Poetry and personal blog – Spilling my guts to strangers

Smoking

I watch him light a cigarette
And think, “Who does that anymore?”–
Under his arm, the Maine Gazette.
I watch him light a cigarette,
Distant brown eyes nicely offset
By the casual flick of the match to the floor.
I watch him light a cigarette
And think, Who does that anymore?”

*************************

NaPoWriMo Day 2. This is a triolet, the NaPoWriMo prompt for today.

Check out this list of my poet friends who are also doing the poem-a-day challenge. Visit them and cheer them on! Contact me if you want to be added to the list.

© Sweepy Jean and Sweepy Jean Explores the (Webby) World, 2012.

Comments on: "Smoking" (29)

  1. wonderful, it’s me except for the newspaper .. 😉

  2. Wow…that was great. Those aren’t easy to write! I wasn’t even sure what one was until I googled triolet! You have a very effective way of using words to plunge the reader right into your poem…Looking forward to reading more as the month progresses. This is fun! 🙂

  3. You make old school habits seem very intriguing. I used to be a smoker, and I loved the taste and the zip the nicotine gave to system. It would have been the perfect love affair if it wasn’t so toxic. I really enjoyed this poem…

  4. Who does that anymore indeed? Sadly too many people still. Great stuff, Adrienne.

  5. I can picture him doing it, great poem.

    Touch Of Love

  6. WOW awesome poem…you truly do have amazing talent ….whether writing a post or writing poetry.. you are amazing…ohhh and I smoke 😦 …As always…XOXOXOXO

  7. Janaki Nagaraj said:

    Many of them do…nice one.

  8. Hello Sweepy.
    Sadly, so many of them still do.
    Nicely expressed. Thanks for sharing.

    Day: 2 Born To Love You

  9. A triolet, no problem. Sadly I have no idea but I sure liked the poem. You’re a very strong writer Sweepy, and a must read for April.

    Regards,

  10. pagemanuel said:

    Vivid image and wonderful rhythm!

  11. Great job on the triolet! And yeah, who does that anymore? (Fewer and fewer people, thankfully!)
    Looking forward to reading what you come up with for tomorrow.

  12. leximagines@gmail.com said:

    What a delightful poem. I love the triolet and you painted such wonderful characters in him and you watching him. It made me smile.

  13. Sweepy, you are a boss! I could smell the ciggie and the scent of the paper just off the press. Wonderful job on the triolet! I skipped the prompt today, but I may have to double back and try my hand at it. You are a master. Loved this!

  14. […] D. Joyce presents “Smoking” posted at Sweepy Jean Explores the (Webby) World. In this triolet, I take a snapshot of modern […]

  15. Thank you for these words, a triple negative, innocently said. If I could hold these words in my heart! I quit on 2/8/2012, when I found out I could retire–in order to afford to retire. So far that inducement is working. BTW, The gesture of “the casual flick of the match on the floor” is an act of littering I felt like a fingernail on a chalk board!

    • Good for you, Susan! I’ve been quit for about 6 years. Keep at it: by the time you hit 6 years you’ll feel better. ;p Smokers will do anything to accommodate their behavior. I can think back on all sorts of disgusting things I did when there was no ashtray available … Ew!

Leave a Reply; Comments Can Be Made Anonymously