Poetry and personal blog – Spilling my guts to strangers

Wisdom

I’m not a year older,
but a year wiser:

a quaint phrase that belongs
to another century,
gone the way of home phones
and desktops.

The world changes,
nothing is safe and
not much can be known.

Maybe there is  wisdom
in knowing that,
wisdom in withholding trust,
wisdom in reporting the duffel bag
left alone on a crowded street,
wisdom in recording it,
in searching passing faces.

Tomorrow is not promised:
that’s a wisdom
life taught me young.

It took longer to understand
I’d rather be gutted than lied to.
The depths are as infinite as the sky.
Life is a gas, not a solid.
I can do this.
“This” is everything.
When I figure out who I am,
I’ll know everything.
I’m always changing.

© Sweepy Jean and Sweepy Jean Explores the (Webby) World, 2013

Comments on: "Wisdom" (3)

  1. Exquisite! Says a truth I needed to hear,and the medium is perfect as the tone. I’m sharing it and putting it in my file of poems I cannot live without.

  2. Penelope J. said:

    This poem has irony, pathos, truth, and the sad wisdom of these times when we try to understand the changing world and fail to understand ourselves.

  3. […] D. Joyce presents Wisdom posted at Sweepy Jean Explores the (Webby) World, saying, “These are just some thoughts I had […]

Leave a Reply; Comments Can Be Made Anonymously

