Poetry and personal blog – Spilling my guts to strangers

Rubbernecking

past the five-car crash

the hyundai badly mangled
cops and lights
no blood
no injured body

the traffic flows
like water drawn
to emptiness

© Sweepy Jean and Sweepy Jean Explores the (Webby) World, 2013

Comments on: "Rubbernecking" (2)

  1. Water seeks every crack and crevice leaving no more emptinesses, filling them up with wetness. I really enjoyed this poem, Sweepy. I wonder why we have to look.

    • Hi Leah. I look because there’s beauty in humanity, even in pain, and I want to make that human connection on the deepest level. Maybe I see myself in the wreckage. I’m glad you liked the poem. ❤

Leave a Reply; Comments Can Be Made Anonymously

