Poetry and personal blog – Spilling my guts to strangers

Rain

It came to be that
the rain fell during the height of sunshine–
nullifying the decree that she must melt in water
while activating the rule of seven,
to which the date reduced. Meaning,

the third eye stretches from temple to temple,

treetops paint the sky,

strawberry letters give way to those of the peach,

no riding on angels’ shoulders,

roses are violets,

cats have names they answer to,

all roads slant downhill.

As she rubbed the sleep from her forehead,
the clouds came.

And that’s only the half of it
or a little less than half;
a small part of the end of the beginning.

© Sweepy Jean and Sweepy Jean Explores the (Webby) World, 2013

Comments on: "Rain" (8)

  1. Waking this morning felt like that. I love your confusion of images.

  2. Love this poem, the topsy-turvy turn of the world on its head soo that “the decree that she must melt in water” is nullified, so that the world remains strange and new,

  3. I tried to understand the poem but I couldn’t 😦

    Nevertheless,I loved what I read.

  4. Adriene, chaos never looked this beautiful! I felt the powerful zing of every image as it zapped into my cerebral cortex! And it sort of feels like me today. I’m finally home after knee surgery! 🙂

Leave a Reply; Comments Can Be Made Anonymously

