Poetry and personal blog – Spilling my guts to strangers

Poker

(For D.K. and the workshop crew)

At  age 14, at a slumber party,
we girls played strip poker.
So naughty and scandalous. Not sure about them,
But I saw it as a way
to expose my ample rack
that was nonexistent a year ago.
Playing to lose, hand after hand,
I traded in aces,
infiltrated flushes,
destroyed all hopes of a straight–
then “lamented” my bad luck
while happily disrobing, thus achieving my goal.
Years later, my losses occur after my best tries,
and I play it close to the vest.

(Published in Paterson Literary Review)

© Sweepy Jean and Sweepy Jean Explores the (Webby) World, 2013

Comments on: "Poker" (12)

  1. Oh! Wonderful. I play poker, too, with a vengeance.

  2. I hear the applause of the workshop crew! Well done. You’ve left me with a big smile!!

  3. Makes me feel like I knew you well way back when.

  4. galenpearl said:

    Oh, the perils and pitfalls of adolescence! And beyond. Wonderful poem.

  5. Interesting way to experience a natural love of nudity. I wasn’t that clever! Your narrator had to learn to be uptight.

  6. haides1954 said:

    We were playing strip poker at he same age but not just boys to boys.When I start to loose and loose I was showing myself to others not shame.but inside of me I was shaking.
    ADJ really li like poem Becouse words are so brave and feelings are so reall

Leave a Reply; Comments Can Be Made Anonymously

