Poetry and personal blog – Spilling my guts to strangers

Two really cool, really talented blogger friends of mine have recently bestowed on me some blog awards. I received the One Lovely Blog Award from Stu of Tale Spinning and bornstoryteller. Stu has an incredible amount of creative energy and has the output to prove it. Yet he still makes time to lend his support to fellow artists in a variety of ways.

I received the Versatile Blogger Award from Rolando of Rolando’s Website. He also is a champion of the creative community to which he belongs. He generously shares his keen observations of the writing business with us as he makes his way along the path of self-publishing, most recently with his charming collection of short stories, The Sun Zebra.

I’m supposed to reveal something about myself and pass the award on to other bloggers. But as you will see from revelation #1:

1. I’m not passing these two awards along. Don’t get me wrong: I’m a sucker for blog games for a number of reasons. Even if I don’t play along fully,  I at least try to acknowledge the person who thought enough of me to send me the shout out. But the last few times I’ve tagged people for one or another of these blog memes, my response rate was quite low and in most cases I was completely ignored. Narrowing down the choices from among the great bloggers I know is the hardest part anyway, so I’ll save myself the trouble of naming anyone. I’ll still get the same result.

2. I wish I could draw. But the fact is I’m woefully horrible at it.

3. All the photos of myself I place around the internet have been taken by me with my cell phone camera. I insanely imagine these pictures to be self portraits, a la  Frida Kahlo. Don’t judge. (Picture of Frida Kaho painting courtesy of Frida Kahlo Fans.)

4. I have a tan already this summer. See photo above, also my next post.

5. I’m not good with numbers. This item was added after I had already published this post, realizing I had skipped it.

6. I’ll pretty much tell you anything about myself if you ask. For the most part. Let me put it this way: If I hide something about myself, it would be for a reason other than embarrassment.

7. I believe in karma in its various, mysterious forms. This belief drives much of what I do. I try to keep the good stuff heading in my direction.

© Sweepy Jean and Sweepy Jean Explores the (Webby) World, 2012

Comments on: "Blog Lovin’ and the Big Reveal" (15)

  1. Sweepy Jean,
    I’m glad that I stopped by today. I was able to get a better picture of you (no pun intended)
    I enjoyed your humor and your honesty. I too avoid passing awards along for the same reason that you stated. It’s just nice to know that people value your words. Congratulations on your awards Sweepy. I’m sure there are many more in your future.
    Peace,
    Leah

  2. Great reveals, especially about math. Had me smiling and I haven’t even had coffee yet. I think are are most deserving of any awards and wholeheartedly agree about the awards. Not a lot of traffic, and I for one truly dislike putting an obligation on another blogger/writer. Self portrait and comparison – no judging at all, if anything I admired the thought underneath and the posting of that inside thought on the blog.

    • Glad I made you smile! ;p Blogging does get hectic so you’re right, it’s not always possible to participate in it all. Frida is inspirational, her life and all. I admire artists who are not afraid to take a good look at themselves.

  3. Congrats! One thing about these awards is that they make you feel lovely about the blogging journey, As usual, loved knowing more about you! 🙂

  4. Glad you did it your way. Yeah, getting these and then sending them on…not always fun. You were an easy choice. Wear it well. 😉

  5. LOL, what would Frida have done with a cell phone, eh? Nice tidbits of personal information Adriene. I understand what you wrote about the low response rate, but this also keeps the award restricted to those who care for it. If every blog on the planet sports the award, then it is not an award anymore. I want to thank you for caring.

    Rolando

  6. Loved what you just have shared here about yourself 🙂 Now I know 😛 Love you lots!

  7. I’ve been away too long. I will return with more regularity! I’ve missed your words. :0)

  8. Scattered Musings of A Creative Mind said:

    Awe.. how I’ve missed your writings… Congrats on the awards, you definitely wear them well. Lovely photo!!

  9. […] blog for a while that I’m a huge fan of Mexican artist Frida Kahlo (see Polite Conversation, Blog Lovin’ and the Big Reveal, and Poetry as Religion. I was so incredibly thrilled to have the opportunity the visit the Frida […]

Leave a Reply; Comments Can Be Made Anonymously

