Poetry and personal blog – Spilling my guts to strangers

They said

thus
it came
to be that
bird songs sung at dawn
were touted as unvarnished truth
yet birds are seekers
not knowers
just like
us

*************************

NaPoWriMo Day 29.

(Published in Kalyani Magazine)

Please visit this list of my poet friends who are also doing the poem-a-day challenge.

© Sweepy Jean and Sweepy Jean Explores the (Webby) World, 2012

Comments on: "They said" (16)

  1. Nice. ‘unvarnished truth’ – wish I thought of that.

  2. I love this notion of birds being like us. I wish I could fly though. 🙂

  3. Penelope J. said:

    Powerful message. Love using birds to convey it.

  4. Lovely words. Like this very much.

  5. Hello.
    Thought-provoking post. Thanks for sharing. Only one more day to go. 😉

    Day 29: In The Womb Of Sorrow

  6. Free as birds are our hearts and minds but our bodies play spoilsport 🙂 Seriously, I loved your poem and all the creative ways you use your words and have done in the past 29 days. Amazing.

    http://sulekharawat.com/2012/04/29/you-know/

  7. hard simple truth …beautifully put

  8. Love it, Adrienne. Now, everytime I hear a bird sing, your poem will come back into my mind. Thanks!

Leave a Reply; Comments Can Be Made Anonymously

