Poetry and personal blog – Spilling my guts to strangers

Once

Once there was a lovely virgin–
One narcissus among the ordinary beautiful–
Cornered by a blue dementia
In the days when one could lose oneself
Beneath the lovelier planes of enterprise.

“There is no magic any more,”
The mirror told,
“I’ve heard it in the chillest land
In a solitude of the sea.”

“Comeback in broad day,”
The mirror told.
“You had better not throw stones upon the wrens!”

“Who say you ugly and they the goodlookingest?”
Once more the mirror told,
“Who? Who? Who?
Hope is the thing with feathers:
I bid you awake at dawn and discover.”

*************************

NaPoWriMo Day 26. The NaPoWriMo prompt was to write a cento–a poem made exclusively of lines from other poems. This poem is brought to you courtesy of  Anne Sexton, Rita Dove, Yusef Komunyakaa, Gwendolyn Brooks, Sara Teasdale, Thomas Hardy, Emily Dickinson, Sylvia Plath, and Amiri Baraka.

Please visit this list of my poet friends who are also doing the poem-a-day challenge. They are worth the look. I’m inspired by them daily. Contact me if you want to be added to the list.

© Sweepy Jean and Sweepy Jean Explores the (Webby) World, 2012

Comments on: "Once" (15)

  1. Janaki Nagaraj said:

    Wonderful compilation.

  2. Pow! Got me in the heart!

  3. Some of my favorite poets are featured here! Art within art, a poem scattered among poets. Delish!

  4. Who would have thought you have taken the lines from different poets. You compiled a unique poem of your own! Fabulous!

  5. This is so beautiful, and the sequence is amazing… the poem is able to tell a tale! Great work as always, Sweepy! 🙂

  6. I loved how you arranged this poem. Beautiful!

    I kind of fell out of the challenge, but I made one last attempt today. Hope you enjoy it. 🙂

    http://ascendingthehills.blogspot.com/2012/04/om-final-poem-for-napowrimo.html

  7. Andy David said:

    My friend,
    I love words that touch me deep within the depth and soil of my heart. Yours did!! Great job.

Leave a Reply; Comments Can Be Made Anonymously

