Poetry and personal blog – Spilling my guts to strangers

Noise (No E’s)

This is my brain:

brain

This is my brain on NaPoWriMo Day 25:

oil albumin b r a i n yolk salt
|
|
|
|
f r y i n g p a n

sunny outlook skyward.

*************************

NaPoWriMo Day 25. The NaPoWriMo prompt was to write a lipogram, which is a poem that refrains from using certain letters. Mine is as the title suggests.

Please visit this list of my poet friends who are also doing the poem-a-day challenge. They are worth the look. I’m inspired by them daily. Contact me if you want to be added to the list.

© Sweepy Jean and Sweepy Jean Explores the (Webby) World, 2012

Comments on: "Noise (No E’s)" (28)

  1. shared out for you. E’s and all

  2. Janaki Nagaraj said:

    COOL.

  3. A perfect image for burnout! 🙂

  4. Love it! Very cool way to be poetic!

  5. Portia Burton said:

    frankly speaking I don’t like a poet like you squandering your creative energy in this fashion. Please pardon me for being so rude against my nature but I really love you as a poet of great potential. I feel sad when my friends indulge in such ‘marathons’. This is certainly not for poets!
    -Portia

    • Hey, Portia. Thanks for your honest feedback. With this 30-day challenge, I can see how it would be a pitfall for someone to put out any old drivel just for the sake of having a poem to post for the day. For this post I took a light easy approach, but that is not how I conducted myself throughout the month because I care too much about the craft to just throw it away

      I had an agenda before I started the month to try some techniques and subject matter that I hadn’t shared much in public before. I also vowed not to rely heavily on short poetic forms. I can honestly say that I didn’t dial it in. I said that I would put as much energy as I could into each piece and I think I did that. Even here there is a thought process as per the prompt. I used the prompts all month long as a way to foster discipline and to think about poetry and language in ways that I may not have otherwise. And yes, there’s something to be said about buckling down and writing every day. It’s a good practice.

      Outside of this challenge, I would not ordinarily try to come up with a completed poem in the space of a half hour to 3 hours and post it as a finished product. So these poems really are first drafts that still need work or even expansion. But for my part, there is an immediacy and rawness that comes out of the speed writing that I like. I love to edit my poems but I wonder sometimes if I’m stripping the life out of them.

      These marathons are not for everyone, but I do think real poets can get something out of the process, even if it’s to clear the cobwebs and shake up the routine. I’m going to come out out this process with some valuable writing lessons learned.

  6. I love this! I feel the same way! I think I may try this form before the challenge ends! 🙂

  7. And yet you’re doing so beautifully! I think it’s normal to feel “fried” when approaching this stage of a challenge, but you’ve got this Adriene! Keep going! No time for your brain to act up in any other way than to conjure your lovely poetry! hee hee! 🙂

  8. Love this! From the title to the idea you use in the poem to its shape–great job! 🙂

  9. pagemanuel said:

    I enjoyed the imagery :-)) So cool!

  10. A lipogram! I haven’t written one in some time yet I do remember how challenging it was! I like using the various formats to put yourself out there and step outside conventional boxes. Way to go!

  11. You know sometimes I wonder if people realize how much work we put in to put out what we do. Your lipogram sums up my life in a nutshell. As much as I wanted (ok not really) to do this NaPoWriMo I noticed that I wasn’t putting out what I wanted to express as a poet. It felt like I was putting out substandard content even though it would take me hours to get an idea, find my proper flow, and then edit it several times to my liking. I say all of this because I know what you go through to write these and some people may find it to be below your poetic skill level, truth is things like this speak louder than any other piece you could put out. Then again I guess that is because some people read words and some people feel. Kudos for sticking to this all month as soon as I get my laptop in working order I will be visiting all of your poems I have missed and get those comments in. xoxo

    • Jen, trust me when I say this comment of yours has me near tears. First, I want to let you know that though you didn’t finish the month, you put out some work that was devastating in its beauty, power, and honesty. You get much respect from me for that. Second, I am so with you on the time factor. I was on a schedule as to when I wanted to post and there were days that I went right up to the wire before coming up with a decent idea. Definitely I made plenty of false starts before coming up with something right. I was determined to prove a point to myself so if it meant I had to put some things on the back burner then I did. (For instance, my bedroom where I do a lot of my work is positively prehistoric with clutter and disarray.) I’m just glad that that life is quiet enough at the moment to allow me to devote that kind of energy to it. Third but not least, the emotional toll this takes is tremendous. I wrote here about being fried but when I started the first draft it was about gushing gallons of blood. Maybe because we wrap everything up in a neat poetry bow people don’t realize we’re picking the scabs off our arteries. I know you know and I thank you for commenting. This is what I needed to hear right now.

Leave a Reply; Comments Can Be Made Anonymously

