Poetry and personal blog – Spilling my guts to strangers

Earth Day ‘ku

among the yams, tough
fibers clung to honest dirt,
my grandmother’s face

*************************

NaPoWriMo Day 23. The NaPoWriMo prompt was to write a poem about a plant.

Please visit this list of my poet friends who are also doing the poem-a-day challenge. They are worth the look. I’m inspired by them daily. Contact me if you want to be added to the list.

© Sweepy Jean and Sweepy Jean Explores the (Webby) World, 2012

Comments on: "Earth Day ‘ku" (18)

  1. Wow! So many images in so few words. Beautiful!

  2. Janaki Nagaraj said:

    🙂

  3. Scattered Musings of A Creative Mind said:

    grandmother’s almost always are seen as tough, hard workers, the back bone to the family, yet sweet and nurturing when we look upon their faces.

    • Cool, so I hope a lot of people can relate. 🙂 I also wanted to bring in the yam as my plant as it is native to Africa and my grandmother used to make them for us when I was a kid. I don’t think I see to many yams these days, mostly sweet potatoes. I guess I have to find out where I can get them!

  4. Wow! Totally visual!!

  5. tumultuousjourney said:

    This was awesome. so visual and true to the grandmothers of our time or any really I guess…I didn’t know mine so I don’t know…lol

  6. Wow! You say so much with so few words. I admire your talent Adrienne.

    http://rimlybezbaruah.blogspot.in/2012/04/dusk.html

  7. I don’t know the difference between a sweet potato and a yam. But I do know that grandmother who sowed and harvested in the garden and elsewhere. She is mine. If only my fiber were as tough as hers, my dirt as clean.

  8. I love the tribute to yams and your grandmother. No one can spice up a yam the way a gramms can. 🙂

  9. Simple and lovely tribute to your grandmother and to mother earth. I just may like this one best of all your poems so far. (Which is saying a lot, because I’ve been enjoying all the ones I’ve read!)

Leave a Reply; Comments Can Be Made Anonymously

