Poetry and personal blog – Spilling my guts to strangers

NaPoWriMo Morning

Metallic gray parked along Weaver Street
And if not for the teddy bears looking out the back window
I wouldn’t know my car from the other metallic grays.
But when I see my babies, one click opens up my world.
I check the mirror on the underside of the visor
To see my face in cold daylight. The rhythm of a song
I wrote about girls, the ocean, dreams, and my father
Moves in me. Everything I have ever felt rides shotgun.
On this stretch of road the sun is in my eyes, this warm day
In April. I’d rather sit here with my feelings than go
Where I’m supposed to be but if I could, would it amount
To a hill of beans in this crazy world? The poet’s lament.
I vaguely recognize the row of trees with white cherry blossoms.
I have arrived but how? Luckily, my car drove me here.

*************************

NaPoWriMo Day 21. The NaPoWriMo prompt was to write a poem about traveling.

Please visit this list of my poet friends who are also doing the poem-a-day challenge. They are worth the look. I’m inspired by them daily. Contact me if you want to be added to the list.

© Sweepy Jean and Sweepy Jean Explores the (Webby) World, 2012

Comments on: "NaPoWriMo Morning" (13)

  1. “Everything I have ever felt rides shotgun.”
    “Luckily, my car drove me here.”
    Before retirement 2 months ago, this was everyday!

  2. Oh, the joy of the muse and our daydreams . . . happens to me, too, while driving and I end up wondering how I got there! So glad you arrived safely. 🙂

  3. Hello.
    Very nice poem Sweepy. Indeed you have arrived. Thanks for sharing.

    Day 19 (21): Sweetheart

  4. Love the ending. Just like an old horse, your car knows the way.

  5. Sometimes I just want to sit on a park bench and muse. I can relate to this. Thanks for capturing this moment in a poem. I felt as if I was in the back seat.

  6. […] really loved her traveling poem from the other day (her day 21 wasn’t as disjointed and confused as mine). Just love […]

Leave a Reply; Comments Can Be Made Anonymously

