Poetry and personal blog – Spilling my guts to strangers

Rock-a-Bye Poet

Cling to the pillow and seep from your head,
The burden of feelings is flooding your bed,
Your tortured existence afloat on a lake;
Write all about it when you are awake.

*************************

NaPoWriMo Day 19. Is it day 19 already? It seems like we started this thing only yesterday plus 18 more days ago … The NaPoWriMo prompt was to write a lullaby for poets.

Please visit this list of my poet friends who are also doing the poem-a-day challenge. They are worth the look. I’m inspired by them daily. Contact me if you want to be added to the list.

© Sweepy Jean and Sweepy Jean Explores the (Webby) World, 2012

Comments on: "Rock-a-Bye Poet" (22)

  1. All our barriers are down when we sleep …oftentimes causing the flood of fears and emotion to sweep through us unbridled in their fury from being repressed most of the time in our subconscious. We probably could learn a lot about ourselves through our dreams…if only we’d remember more of them!

    Great poem. 🙂

  2. That’s how I feel every night.

  3. This is an amazing poem! Well done my dear!

  4. Janaki Nagaraj said:

    The second line is so true…nice.

  5. mmmm…sleepy nap time now. nighty nightttttzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

  6. sometimes i wake having to write

  7. I shared this tiny poem on Facebook ! Thanks.

  8. Hello Sweepy,
    All this lullaby talk is making me feel sleepy. Need to rest my hand & my head for the remaining challenge days ahead, which seem to be getting longer and longer. (Lol) Nice entry. Thanks for sharing.

    Quicksand

  9. Deep lullaby, hard to sleep after reading it. Lovely

  10. I was singing while I was reading. Nice one girl! 🙂

  11. Nodding indeed

Leave a Reply; Comments Can Be Made Anonymously

