Poetry and personal blog – Spilling my guts to strangers

Dear Love …

Dear Love,
How are you?
I hope you are fine.
The other day my cat …

No, wait, that’s no good …

Dear Love,
You’re so vain.
You probably think
This poem’s about you …

No, that’s taken …

Dear Love,
You have no name or face
So I reinvent you every day,
Construct you inch by inch,
And tear you down each night.

In my cubic dreams,
Fractured angles,
I place the mirror shards
Where I like.
In the end,
You bear a striking resemblance
To an apple …

Oh my God, what was that?
Let me start this again …

Dear Poetry…

*************************

NaPoWriMo Day 18. The NaPoWriMo prompt was to write a poem in the form of a letter to an inanimate object. I also was supposed to include at least 4 elements from a list of 6 and this is what I chose:

1) a song lyric
2) an oddball adjective-noun combination (like red grass or loud silence)
3) a fruit
4) a measure of distance

Please visit this list of my poet friends who are also doing the poem-a-day challenge. They are worth the look. I’m inspired by them daily. Contact me if you want to be added to the list.

© Sweepy Jean and Sweepy Jean Explores the (Webby) World, 2012

Comments on: "Dear Love …" (27)

  1. So love the humor in this one! Well done!

  2. Lovely! Don’t we all know those many starts without realizing it is also ourselves we are building up and ripping down. Again, as in yesterday’s haiku and before, you pare down to the truth.

  3. That was fun. Made me smile this morning, and I needed that.

  4. Janaki Nagaraj said:

    This is damn so creative…:-)

  5. This was great…I would have never have thought of doing this…and writing to love, of all things! Great poem!

  6. Love love love it! So creative and beautiful.

  7. This poem is great! I loved it! It made me smile and it flowed so well! Well done!

  8. Well played charming lady…funny and tender

  9. Hello Sweep,
    This is just great…love the fun element to it. Keep it up!

    Portrait Of A Lady

  10. Fantastic, Adriene 🙂

  11. Clever and I love the twist. Good job! Made me smile.

  12. Ha! Loved this one. You rocked it out and made me smile. Keep it up. We have 10 more days to go! 🙂

  13. My love bore an uncanny resemblance to a birch tree or a drunk gazelle. I haven’t seen her in 3 years. Guess I can no longer call her “my love,” but it says something about me that the words “my love” come out this way, so easily.

    See, this is the place I go to when I start talking poetry.

    Kind of a meta-poem, this one, isn’t it?

Leave a Reply; Comments Can Be Made Anonymously

