Poetry and personal blog – Spilling my guts to strangers

Daddy Dearest

My father is a retired magician:
Scarves crammed back into the top hat;
The rabbit, stuffed and mounted;
Wand, sawed in half.
Sleight of hand?
He’ll take that art with him
To the grave.

*************************

NaPoWriMo Day 11. The NaPoWriMo prompt was to lift a line from another poem and make it the first line of yours. The poem I “borrowed” from is “My Father is a Retired Magician” by Ntozake Shange.

Check out this list of my poet friends who are also doing the poem-a-day challenge. Visit them and cheer them on! Contact me if you want to be added to the list.

© Sweepy Jean and Sweepy Jean Explores the (Webby) World, 2012.

Comments on: "Daddy Dearest" (25)

  1. Love the images here! Well done!

  2. Never thought of a sleight of hand artist retiring. Poor bunny. ;(

  3. Janaki Nagaraj said:

    Nice one….your Dad is passionate about his Art.

  4. magicians are very cool.

  5. One of my favorite writers, Ntozake Shange. Nice choice of line and great poem. A lot of imagery there.

    http://lyricfire.typepad.com/lyric-fire/2012/04/lyric-fire-napowrimo-2012-day-11-of-30-poems-in-30-days-a-tumbleweed-rolling-.html

  6. I have always been in total amazement watching a magician. They have such incredible talent to deceive the human eye 🙂

  7. So the magic behind the tricks stay with him…As always…XOXOXOXOX

  8. Hello Sweepy.
    This is great! I’ve always loved magical shows & the secrets behind the “magic”. Thanks for sharing.

    Jewels Of Darkness

  9. Great write!

  10. This was great…I really liked how it ended. I am way behind in this challenge, in both reading and writing. Hoping to jump back in tomorrow and catch up on everyone’s poems and write one myself! I’m glad I stopped by here…I always love what there is to find.

  11. Oh my! What is left when you are gone! I enjoy your details and the spareness of the whole, which is “of magnitude” meaning no more and no less than needed to be beautiful (Aristotle).

  12. Love the finality of his decision to retire and keep the secret of the art to himself. You pack so much meaning in so few lovely words. You inspire me.

Leave a Reply; Comments Can Be Made Anonymously

