Poetry and personal blog – Spilling my guts to strangers

Self Defense

Zimmerman.
Z-I-M-M-E-R-M-A-N

Officer,
I had him on the ground,
Punching the shit out of him.
He tried to fight back
With a bag of Skittles candy,
So I shot him in the name of
Self defense.

Thanks, Officer,
You have a good evening, too.

*************************

NaPoWriMo Day 10. The NaPoWriMo prompt was to write a persona poem/dramatic monologue in the voice of someone you’re not (that’s a concept that needs discussion at some point). This persona poem is topical and centers on the recent shooting of Florida teen Trayvon Martin by George Zimmerman.

(**Note** Several hours after posting this poem, I realized that I approached it all wrong. This is not really a dramatic monologue. I should have been talking to “myself”  a la my poem The Wedding as opposed to recording one side of a conversation. Oh well, my bad!)

Check out this list of my poet friends who are also doing the poem-a-day challenge. Visit them and cheer them on! Contact me if you want to be added to the list.

© Sweepy Jean and Sweepy Jean Explores the (Webby) World, 2012.

Comments on: "Self Defense" (24)

  1. Janaki Nagaraj said:

    Hmmm….LOL…wish I could do that.

  2. Well done, Adrienne. So relevant and so powerful too!

  3. Adrienne- I am enjoying taking this journey with you. I look forward to you emails and daily poems. You will have a nice chap book at the end of this month.

  4. Adrienne…starting with him spelling his name is just delicious verisimilitude. And that’s just a fact, ma’am.

    Regards,

  5. Wow. This is powerful. Raw and unfiltered. Go Sweepy. You are doing poetry proud girl.

  6. This is good. No problem with the monologue at all. It’s powerful and right on. A bag of Skittles. We all know what a lethal weapon Skittles can be.

  7. There’s madness in ever corner of the world…you captured a glimpse of it well in this poem. 🙂

  8. Nicely put, enjoyed reading your poem.

  9. Penelope J. said:

    Incredible. Pathos, irony, a shameless excuse for ending another life.

  10. Oh Sweepy…lmao!! I needed that in the middle of my day 😉 Thanks!

  11. I just had to share this with my ex-students who have begun performing as a team–and are teaching themselves now that I am retired. This is the 3rd poem I’ve read by you, and it confirms my sense of your power through spareness, letting the event speak: Pow! I’ll be back.

  12. Hopefully his arrest will put things in some order for the future

Leave a Reply; Comments Can Be Made Anonymously

