Poetry and personal blog – Spilling my guts to strangers

First Kiss

didn’t know
you felt that way,
but your heart, warm and moist,
leaned in, and my soul gladly made room
for it;
this destiny, this airless space, this moment,
neither one wanting it to end,
two of us trembling
like butterflies.

*************************

NaPoWriMo Day 6. The NaPoWriMo prompt was to write a poem about a “first.”

Check out this list of my poet friends who are also doing the poem-a-day challenge. **The list is growing, so if you haven’t looked at the list lately, you should! :-)** Visit these blogs and cheer them on! Contact me if you want to be added to the list.

© Sweepy Jean and Sweepy Jean Explores the (Webby) World, 2012.

Comments on: "First Kiss" (15)

  1. Janaki Nagaraj said:

    Wow! Feeling the butterflies myself.

  2. Love it. Exactly how I felt when I first kissed Lisa.

  3. Oh, yes, you have expressed that tender, trembling moment of a first kiss perfectly! Just beautiful!

  4. Hello.
    Ahh yes…I feel like that with every kiss my wife and I share (smile).
    Nicely penned Sweepy.

    I’m not writing to the NaPoWriMo prompts, but my post for today is actually about kisses.
    Day 6: Forbidden Kisses

  5. You really captured the moment so well…I loved it! Every word of yours in a poem bears weight and meaning…I’m enjoying your poems a lot. 🙂

  6. Such sweetness. Leaning in, making room, butterflies. Just a few words and you captured what we all felt, well, at least me!

  7. I’m glad you can relate! 🙂

Leave a Reply; Comments Can Be Made Anonymously

