Poetry and personal blog – Spilling my guts to strangers

The Half Light Blues

My man looks at and through me with distance in his eyes
My lover looks at and through me with distance in his eyes
He walks away to greet me, holds me close to say good-bye

*************************

NaPoWriMo Day 5. The NaPoWriMo prompt was to write a blues song. I ran out of time and energy so the rest of it is on hold for now!

Check out this list of my poet friends who are also doing the poem-a-day challenge. **I just added a new member to the list!** Visit them and cheer them on! Contact me if you want to be added to the list.

© Sweepy Jean and Sweepy Jean Explores the (Webby) World, 2012.

Comments on: "The Half Light Blues" (25)

  1. Wow..chilling.

  2. Great,out of the gate…I’m going to dog ya to finish this one.

    Regards,

  3. Janaki Nagaraj said:

    Oh! sad…:-)

  4. Great poem, thought is well received.

  5. Wow…just three lines and so full of sorrow…Definitely the epitome of the blues! Great job. 🙂

  6. Sad and definitely bluesy. Beautiful!

  7. Yes! LOL! I love your honesty! The start to this is great Sweepy and yes, you must finish it. Very deep. I love this: “He walks away to greet me, holds me close to say good-bye.” Go girl!

  8. Hello.
    Even in its shortness, the ending speaks volumes. So sad.
    Thanks Sweepy!

    Day 5: Empty Streams

  9. Funny the way relationships are so full of contradictions. Nice condensed poem. You took exactly the space you needed, no more and no less.

  10. Tears flow blue
    Wind blows blue
    Moon loves you
    Stars love you
    Sing the night

  11. leximagines@gmail.com said:

    Amazing how three lines, with repeated parts in different order, can say so much. Very powerful and a bit ghostly. I really like it.

  12. […] was just not long enough. Please visit NaPoWriMo for inspiration. Or take a look at some of the others who are writing together this month with me! Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first […]

  13. this poem is full of wisdom, authentically written, and this is often the way we interact.

Leave a Reply; Comments Can Be Made Anonymously

