Poetry and personal blog – Spilling my guts to strangers

This is a blog meme I hope you will enjoy. I have to name my most beautiful post, my most popular post, my most controversial post, my most helpful post, the post whose success surprises me, a post I feel didn’t get the attention it deserved, and the post I am most proud of.

(Note: I like the number 7. In numerology, people with a 7 life path are seekers of truth. I do not have a 7 life path, technically speaking, but I pretend that I do.)

Cathy Jones Tittle, a wonderful blogging friend and terrifically creative visual artist and writer, tagged me to participate in this exercise. Cathy did this on her blog, which is funny, serious, deep, and from the heart. She had great material to choose from. Please visit her at ~just my thoughts to see what I mean.

At the end of this post, just as Cathy did, I’ll invite 4 bloggers to chose their links and tag other people to do the same.

So without further ado, here are my 7 links (I excluded my 1 + 1 Wednesday posts  or any of my poems from consideration).

My most beautiful post is one of my early ones: Cigarettes and Poetry. It describes an awkward and significant period in my life in as much honest detail as I could muster. My feeling at the time was that to be the kind of writer I want to be, I have to be unafraid to show myself to the public. I still think that. For me, that kind of honesty is beautiful, and the memory of my first kiss is still sweet.

It’s hard to really tell which one is my most popular post, but judging from the amount of feedback,  Bloggers Are Writers may have been at the top of the list. I think it was a topic so many of my visitors could relate to.

My most controversial post was Feminism and Chivalry Revisited. For the most part, people were polite, but I’m not sure anyone actually agreed with me completely. The discussion was lively and varied, which I enjoyed immensely.

My most helpful post was Hello Hello. This was the post where I revealed my name for the first time on the blog, as well as some other “secrets.” It was liberating for me and helpful for my readers to get a sense of the person behinds the words. The support and acceptance I received was heartwarming.

The post whose success surprises me is Comfortable Silence. I didn’t think anyone would find it interesting and I didn’t think I would receive many comments on it. But in fact, I received a nice response. My blog visitors are the best in the world, bar none.

The post I feel didn’t get the attention it deserved is Post-Racial America. Actually, maybe it’s the most controversial one and the reason why people were reluctant to comment on it, except for one brave soul. Maybe I’ll revisit the topic one day soon.

The post I am most proud of is impossible for me to choose, as a piece of me goes into each one I write. But if I have to choose, I’ll say it is I must be mad because it was my very first blog post and a huge leap of faith for me. The decision to write it was the best thing I had done for myself in a long time.

Now for the hardest part, which is to name people to pass this along to. Lots of bloggers I know have already done this one, and I have mentioned tons of others in various memes over time. Hopefully, I’ll have the opportunity to mention even more in the future because I enjoy spreading the love around. Here are the beautiful bloggers I’m passing this torch to; light the fire as you will!

Motifs on the Wall
Penny Jars
Raising Amelie
GrrlGuide

© Sweepy Jean and Sweepy Jean Explores the (Webby) World, 2011

Comments on: "My 7 Links: Seekers of Truth" (29)

  1. oh my! what can i possibly say but why MEEEEEEE!!! Stella!!!! Stella!!!!!

    These things scare the sh..t out of me. 🙂

    You are one of my favourites to visit btw my Sweepster.

    Merci
    A

    p.s you have to love the brave soul… Lisa aka widow lady
    kisses

    • De rien, Stanley, er, I mean Alejandro! I do love Lisa, she’s amazing. These memes are a little scary, they make you think about things you probably are trying to avoid, at least that’s the way for me. But it’s good for the soul, and you too have a lot of great posts to pick from! ❤

  2. Always nice to revisit posts that one has re written…. Congratulations… Sweepy..
    and now I shall head over to A….

  3. you took me by surprise…thank u so much,will always remember this gesture of yours…and believe me,You are someone special.

  4. Portia Burton said:

    yeah,spreading love is the only way out in the present vicious world.
    -portia

  5. Nice SJ 😉 Another list of blogs to read…

  6. “My feeling at the time was that to be the kind of writer I want to be, I have to be unafraid to show myself to the public. I still think that. For me, that kind of honesty is beautiful, and the memory of my first kiss is still sweet.”

    Sweepy, I agree, agree, agree! Thank you for spreading the love this way 🙂

  7. I really like this idea ( aside from being mentioned). First, my apologies for being late to the party. I was away last week and barely managed to stay afloat with my own writing.

    I like idea of paying forward, inspired and creative way to meet other wonderful writers. I’m not sure I should thank you for adding to my to-do list just yet.. 🙂 I still tingle when I fall upon writers that inspire and tease with their words.. OK, deep breath and some think is in store for me. Hugs and thanks again!

  8. I’ve just read or reread all the posts you mentioned here. You show courage in writing this blog, revealing who you are, and also growing at the same time. You are teaching me – I hope I am learning. Thank you, Adriene!

  9. lovely concept-much easier than writing 7 things about yourself:) Didnt know the significance of the number 7 until now…so thank you.
    i have always enjoyed reading your posts, although have to admit its hard to keep up when there are so many writers in the blogosphere. you have given me more material to read and will make it a point to go through the ones on your coveted list.

  10. Fantastic choices Sweepy! I feel like I have read most of the post you mentioned anyway but will just check them out tomorrow to make sure. Great idea this!

  11. These are a bunch of very interesting posts! Pat your back for writing so beautifully and honestly 🙂

  12. I really enjoyed your choices Adrienne, some I had read before and some new to me. Thank you for sharing.

  13. What wonderful choices. Thanks for participating. You are an awesome writer girl! I feell blessed and privileged to have found you. 😀
    ~cath

  14. Congrats on being picked for this Adriene, had tough times choosing from among your “babies”? 😉

  15. Great idea, but I am not sure I could do it. I think it would take me all the time in the world, LOL! I left a comment in Post-Racial America. Hopefully it is now getting more attention.

Leave a Reply; Comments Can Be Made Anonymously

