Poetry and personal blog – Spilling my guts to strangers

The Sign

(Fellow poet and blogger Jenni De La Torre** not only gifts us with her poetry, but also talks about where it comes from. Read, enjoy, and show her some comment love!)

I gave my word to guest post for Sweepy Jean’s blog and when I commit to something, it has to be mind, body and soul. But when I agreed to write a poem, I almost immediately had an anxiety attack. You may be wondering why… Well, I will explain.

You see, even though I have been writing poetry for well over 20 years now (good grief, that made me feel old), I still tend to freak out when it comes time to write one. I suppose it’s because I believe that a poem is something that is felt–not something that can be mass produced in a matter of minutes.

Then I started thinking about my writing style. Those of you who know my poems recognize how much I struggle with the romantic aspect of poetry. For those of you who haven’t read them, feel free to check out a few poems that I humbly recommend or any of the many I have throughout my blog:

The Contract
I Have Lived Life
Nobody’s Birthday
Jessica’s Sonnet

I am just not a frou-frou, happy-go-lucky, overly romantic girl and honestly, so far, it has worked out good for me. But, how can one be a guest poet on a site and not be expected to give the best damn love poem they could possibly write?

I could easily copy and paste any one of my poems from my blog, or grab an unfinished one that sits patiently in my email or word program waiting for me to bring it to life. But, I won’t! Because I would feel like I didn’t give my very best to you, the lovely readers of Sweepy’s blog. So without further adieu, I offer to you… my poem.

The Sign

Yesterday I stood firmly
patiently awaiting
the sign…
from above

Today I sat wearily
anxiously pursuing
the sign…
from above

Tomorrow I’ll kneel nobly
finally accepting
the sign…
from above.

Forever I’ll speak fluently
loyally maintaining
the mark…
of your love.

~Jenni De La Torre

— “Parting is such an arduous pain
I shall grieve thine essence ‘til we meet again.”

Enlighten Up–For Jens Sake

**Jenni De La Torre describes herself as a wife, mother, writer, animal lover, educator, student, poet, friend, and activist,. You can find her online at:

Blog: For Jen’s Sake
Twitter: @J3ni3
Twitter: @InJensMind
Facebook Page: In Jen’s Mind

© Sweepy Jean and Sweepy Jean Explores the (Webby) World, 2011

Comments on: "The Sign" (26)

  1. I’m waiting for the sign……Loving you and your words…As always…..XOXOXOXOXO

  2. I know what you mean, Jenni. Guest posting is a responsibility. It is especially difficult for a poet, because, as you said, it’s harder to craft those words and emotions than it is to say the same thing in a paragraph of prose. But you needn’t have worried. Your poem here is strong, beautiful, and full of love. Thank you so much for guest posting! xoxox

    • When it’s my own blog I don’t feel as stressed because as long as I like it that’s really what matters. At least at that specific moment anyway. But, when you guest post you have a whole “new” set of people you are trying to impress. Thank you so much for allowing me this opportunity to wow you’re readers. xoxo

  3. Nice poem Jenni
    A good guest post Sweepy
    Above I wait for my Sweepy too …:)

    A

  4. It’s always nice to see your work Jen and I do like this poem a lot. I feel it comes from a precious place within and speaks from a love that is important to you. Thanks for sharing it with us. Thanks to you also Sweepy for bringing us great artists. 🙂

    • Thank you Tamek. I don’t know if it came from a precious place it did come from a place of angst though. I’m trying to show my softer more romantic side and I know you know how hard that is for me.

  5. It never ceases to amaze me how much emotion and feeling can be put into the arrangement of a few words. That poem was wonderful…it said so very much…I am a fan.

    Thank you Sweepy for allowing those of us who don’t know Jenni to experience her work.

    ~cath

  6. How silly to let yourself get so nervous when you are as talented as this has just demonstrated.

    • Thank you Larry. I appreciate your compliment. The nervousness isn’t all bad, it does make me put my all into what I share as a guest poet.

  7. Sign points : This Way.

    twitted, stumbled and liked

  8. Lovely words,I do so enjoy your poetry Jen, on the spot or not you write beautifully. Thank you for sharing, Thank you Sweepy for a wonderful guest post…

  9. I know what you n=mean by not being able to mass produce poetry. I too write more poetry than prose and cannot for the life of me churn out poems unless it comes from the heart otherwise it is no longer spontaneous. But you “Sign”…..it is beautiful. So many of us wait that sign. I am still waiting for mine, for love….

    • I have found that I cannot mass produce anything that I write. Every thing I put on my blog or in my articles is always deeply felt. I just don’t know how to write any other way. Thank you Rimly, the sign is closer than you think.

  10. Awesome – I can feel the faith of the writer as she passes from confidence, to hope, to gracious submission to fate, and then back to a kind of confidence again… Love it!

  11. That was beautiful….If only we could see and decipher signs God sends us. Enjoyed reading it very much….

  12. The changing posture speaks volumes, and yet remains a mystery – spoken fluently.
    Mark of a good poet.

  13. Jenni

    Perfect straight from the heart. Powerful delivery.

    Great guest post Sweepy

    Jessica

  14. Thanks, everybody. I’m glad you all enjoyed this guest post as much as I did! ❤

  15. Nice poem!

    Well, I don’t know how they mass produce, I wonder how.

Leave a Reply; Comments Can Be Made Anonymously

