Poetry and personal blog – Spilling my guts to strangers

I must not fear. Fear is the mind-killer. Fear is the little-death that brings total obliteration. I will face my fear. I will permit it to pass over me and through me. And when it has gone past I will turn the inner eye to see its path. Where the fear has gone there will be nothing. Only I will remain.

–The Bene Gesserit Litany Against Fear; from the novel Dune, a modern masterpiece by Frank Herbert

*********************************

Welcome to 1 + 1 Wednesday!

I invite you to go to the comments section and share two words on any theme whatsoever.

Your two words can be simple, complex, or completely random. Say something important, or make no sense whatsoever. Feel free to comment as many times as you want with two-word combinations.

No restriction on language except no slurs against race/ethnicity or sexual orientation. Such comments will not be approved or will be deleted as soon as I’m able.

Need an example of how to play? Click here to see last week’s 1 + 1 in action!

Become a fan of  1 + 1 fan page at http://www.facebook.com/1plus1wednesday and invite your friends to join, too!

Follow 1 + 1 on Twitter at http://twitter.com/1plus1wednesday.

Have fun!

© Sweepy Jean and Sweepy Jean Explores the (Webby) World, 2011

Comments on: "1 + 1: Bene Gesserit Edition" (53)

  1. Considering unemployment

  2. Am Unemployed

  3. sulekkha said:

    sweet once

  4. Paolo Mateo said:

    Since your blog title is about purging fear, I thought this might be a comparative point of view:

    When the sky is dark and a wind is whipping up a scent of humid promise, I find myself overwhelmed with the possibilities of what’s to come. At that moment, with that first deep breath, I wonder if I will survive the holocaust approaching. The dread is vicious in its calling, poignant in its desire to be sure. I have reason to cower before its presence, alone against the onslaught.

    I hear them in the distance, steadily approaching as angry thunder before a raging storm. One wolf now stands alone against nature’s fury, against a fury that plays to win at all cost. My only defense is that which I carry within – it is not much, and yet it may be enough to cheat The Reaper that rides at its tail.

    The answer lies within the act. That act is about to begin. Within the night-like ambiance I sense the horde will be upon me soon – I should have such cause to fear, yet I don’t. I am beyond that now.

    With head laid back, eyes lightly shut, I bask in the hot rain washing away all my guilt, my shame. The thundering hooves of what will be echo upon me. The strength of its desire weighs heavily upon my soul. But it is too late. It can’t have me now. I take in one last breath of freedom before howling like the lone wolf I’ve become and wait for the horde that I am no longer afraid of.

    <>

  5. Weirding Way

  6. suburbansatsangs said:

    home stretch

  7. sudden butterflies

  8. scared shitless (those are the words that came to my mind when I saw your FB notification and I came here and saw the very relevant quote . . . love that quote)

  9. Two words?

    Dune quotes

    It is by will alone I set my mind in motion. It is by the juice of Sapho that thoughts acquire speed, the lips acquire stains. The stains become a warning. It is by will alone I set my mind in motion.

  10. panic picnic

  11. “weathered roses”

    :: weathered roses ::

  12. paul atreides

  13. grateful unknown

  14. Dune boon

    @hiccupcricket

  15. Washington tourist

  16. What’s next?

  17. Challenge fear.

  18. […] Click here to see last week’s 1 + 1 in action and get an example of how to play! […]

Leave a Reply; Comments Can Be Made Anonymously

