Poetry and personal blog – Spilling my guts to strangers

Fluid, Fluent, Flowing

[This post acknowledges blog awards and reintroduces my blog roll, but of course there’s a back story!]

Do you see your life as “a long flat road” (**see below) or as a series of highs and lows, a pendulum swinging back and forth–or what?


In April 2010, I became very introspective and withdrawn. I felt very much the same way this past April. In both years, it seemed that life was closing in on me.

Last year I clammed up almost completely, blogging a post once or twice a month on average during the spring and summer. This year, I participated in a poem-a-day challenge during the month of April. Doing so had the odd effect of being very insular and personal for me while at the same time making me feel raw and exposed. It was thrilling. It helped me get through a difficult time in my offline life.

It also was a very social time in the blogosphere where a lot of “awards” and such were being handed out. In the past few months, I’ve received a few, some I acknowledged here and here, and the rest
I acknowleded personally so as not to disturb my “flow.” So here’s a simple list of bloggers I didn’t acknowledge here before who have graciously honored me on their blog, in no particular order:

My Rivendell
Virtual Assistant World
Tale Spinning
Blog-A-Licious Blogs
Reflections from a Red Head (she gave me two!)
Finding One’s Way
Living with Food Allergies and Celiac Disease
The Other Side of Anna
Roy’s Garage Sell and Auction

Some of these bloggers may have forgotten that they ever gave me an award! By the same token, if I have forgotten someone, don’t be mad! Remind me and I’ll set it straight!

I’m not going to pass awards along as is the usual custom, but I will share something about myself.

Have you ever wondered about the numbers after the name of my blog. Have you noticed how they change from time to time?

When I first stated this blog, there were no numbers in the title. But when I went through that quiet phase last year, I added “2.0” to imitate how software developers indicate improvements and upgrades. At that moment, I felt differently about the blog. I had gained a new confidence. Since then, without notification and completely at random intervals, I have changed the numbers to indicate a difference in how I feel inside. I expose a lot about myself here, but for the most part, the reasons why I upgrade I will keep to myself.

During one of my moods last year, I took down my original blog roll for personal reasons. However, just the other day, I was inspired by To Gyre and Gambol–a new find–to reinstate it. My new list is way bigger than the old one and it will evolve and morph over time. It goes to show how my blogging life has been enriched by my blogging buddies new and old, some of whom have been around from day one, accepting me through all my ups and downs!

Thanks to all and please, click some links. Discover the pearls here.

**Who knows what song these few words are from? Think 1990 …

© Sweepy Jean and Sweepy Jean Explores the (Webby) World, 2010.

Comments on: "Fluid, Fluent, Flowing" (54)

  1. You are such a courageous and sensitive person Sweepyjean and I have tried to read as many of your posts and they have always inspired me. Thank you for sharing something of your self today. I have always wondered about the numbers, now I know

    • Thanks so much, Rimly. The beauty of being part of the blogging community seeing the wealth of creativity and beauty in each other.

  2. Although, I quickly limped out of the Blog Challenge (it was just too much for one who suffers from brain fog), I will always be grateful to it for helping me to find you. I loved your poem a day challenge. I also love your courage at attempting such a thing. This post as all your posts make me stop and think about this mysterious thing called life. How to live with integrity, with dignity… these questions haunt my days and my nights.

    I did not know “long flat road” came from. Thanks to this online technical age, I was able to Google it and discover some beautiful lyrics that on a rainy Southern England day made my day. Thank you for that. Rhythm of Life by Oleta Adams

    • Thanks, Robin, I’m glad we found each other! Yes indeed, that is exactly the song I was referring to. If you ever have time, youtube it to hear the song. She sings it beautifully!

  3. Thank you for suggesting my words helped inspire you. There is no greater tribute to any blogger, and it feels sooooo good. You do the same for us.

  4. I don’t get around much for comments, not like I used to…but nothing has changed in all the time I have followed you When I see one of your posts roll in, I stop whatever I am doing and go read it. If we had a year book like they do in high school, I think we both might write “A long strange trip” in each others cover. It has been for both of us. This post rewinded time for me and I remember each section of the year in your blog vividly. Love the new blogs on your blog list, love that you are getting your groove back in a big way-at least it seems you are-and I am looking forward to marking another year with you. *hugs*

    • I love you, Lisa. You have to know that you are integral to my journey as a blogger. Whether you comment or not I think about you feel and your presence. Our blogs were newish together and to have your support throughout often kept me going, not to mention the inspiration I got from the force of nature that is your blog. Now as then, it’s comforting to know that I’m not alone in being rawly honest and vulnerable. Being in that sisterhood helps me stay strong.

  5. Thank you for sharing and I am honoured to have been added to your blog roll. Your journey is far from over…I hope there are enough numbers to keep up with you as you continue to grow. x

  6. Hi Beautiful, Good to see you back with a vengeance ( I know you never totally went away, but you know what I mean). x

  7. {{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{BIGHUG}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}} Love your writing.

  8. Keep up the great work!

  9. thank you for being in my blog world and being mentioned . you have made laugh so hard i still giggle when i see you post . and that bronze elephant and lemon cake was deliquescent it pours though the web bring fun and laughter to the world. thank you keep posting god bless

    • Roy, you don’t know how happy it makes me for you to say that. Laughing is my favorite thing to do, right after making people laugh. As soon as I saw your blog I knew that you were unique and creative. So happy to have made your acquaintance, sir! God bless you.

  10. Life changes course all the time – ever more now than it did a 20 years ago – I wonder why : )). You deserve all the awards you were given Sweepy! I hope you are in that phase of life with the ups now.

    • Indeed, Kriti, these are interesting times. Thanks so much for your comment. I’m also at a very interesting point in my personal life. I’m excited 🙂

  11. Our blogging community is richer because you are in it lady! Thanks for introducing us to some more bloggers and as always I love to see what you write next. Happy Friday!

  12. Just like you I am of two minds with awards. I used to pass them on right away but I haven’t done it for quite some time. I obviously thanked the bloggers who gave them to me. I really like the way you have explained what you did and why. As for the mood changes, I am glad that you are better. Take care.

  13. You are wonderful person..and I respect you so…its always a pleasure to connect with your words.

  14. suburbansatsangs said:

    It’s an honor to be included in your blogroll. Ever since Blogher, I’ve enjoyed and admired your poetic words and vision, and love coming up with those precious two words for the week (and reading everyone else’s). I always look forward to your posts and glimpses into your life. Thanks for sharing. 1 + 1 and onward!

  15. This is such a beautiful way to acknowledge those who are special and have had had an influence!
    P.S The mystery behind the numbers is finally revealed!

  16. Now you gave me something to watch out for every time I visit your site! Those upgrades are interesting and glad you’ve found your voice again to share with the rest of us. :-))

  17. Congrats. Great writes always get acknowledged.

  18. Sweepy, I see my life as more of a winding road, with sometimes sharp curves, lots of scenery, and surprise spots along the way – and of course hills (highs) and valleys (lows). Never have been a highway or a fast lane person though, as the straight stretch is too predictable and mundane. Lately I’ve been like you were in April, more introspective and withdrawn than usual. It almost makes me feel like a hermit. Maybe this too will pass; maybe I’ll snap out of it soon and be more sociable. I hope it’s just a phase anyway.

    • I hope so too, Debra, as I love hearing your voice, and I’m sure you will snap out of it. But don’t rush it. Thetime can be used to come to some new wisdom and understanding.

  19. We find the beauty in our life in all those ups and downs…someone told me one day that “Life is Mundane”. He did not mean that in a pejorative way…it is made up of all the things we do everyday…on a conscious and unconscious level…each having value..but not always feeling as if the Stars are bursting overhead…or getting flowers deliverd ” Just Because”…or the big one ” Winning the Lotto”…

    It just ” Is”…made up of moments that become memories and people in our lives that come and go. Some become friends, some lovers, some who just touch us and make a difference. As we travel that road and look back…we see our ” Life Lived”…and the “Living” as we look forward…

    Great Post Sweepyjean…always thought provoking…

    • Wonderful comment, Raven! Indeed, between the highs and lows, many of us experience routines and sameness, but like you said, not in a bad way. Sometimes the routine is what keeps us sane, or even what puts food on the table.

  20. Beautiful post. I’m very honored to be among your blogroll. ❤

  21. Well, I’m just getting to know you but I’ve had a wonderful introduction so far. I’ll be looking forward to versions 4.2 and beyond!

  22. Love your opening question, how do we (your readers) see our lives. I would have to say, thankfully, not as a long flat road but more like a series of highs and lows.

    I can relate to your feeling introspective and withdrawn, and not wanting to blog, as that happened to me late 2010 until recently when Janine came to my rescue and invited me to join this group.

    I’m fascinated that you upgrade yourself. If I were to do the same, I’d still be sitting around my starting point. And I’m impressed that you acknowledge other bloggers who have influenced or motivated you. In my case, I’d have to (again) mention Janine, Samantha, and Hajra who have been guiding lights to my getting here.

    • I’m so glad to have met you through PBAU and that you are finding your voice again. Janine, Samantha and Hajra are great bloggers and most importantly, nice people. Reaching out and acknowledging others is a no-brainer. Blogging as about sharing!

  23. Hi, Sweepy Jean! —

    Nice to “meet” you and looking forward to getting to know you through your stories …

    I appreciate your authentic sharing and find that’s the best way to get to know ourselves and each other.

    Blessings!
    Dangerous Linda

  24. What a wonderful post…I love learning about the bloggers whose posts I read. And funny that you just reinstated your blogroll, I just took mine down and moved it to a new page on my blog. The list has changed for me too, and I read way more blogs than I have on my blogroll, but those are the ones whose writing clicked with me in some way.

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts.
    ~cath
    PS…August is always a tough month for me, since my dad died all the joy in that month has gone. I try to use it now for introspection on my own life and recentering myself.
    Great post girl!

  25. What a lovely, honest post. 🙂 🙂

  26. What a lovely post. In answer to your question I certainly see my life as a series of ups and downs with a few interesting twists and turns to keep me guessing. I too will be watching for new numbers. It’s nice to think this is when you feel a change,

  27. Hey Sweepy –

    Although I haven’t been blogging a long time now being 2 months today, I also am just getting to know you more with each blog you post. I did observe you were quiet in May but I don’t question that. People have lives to live off the internet and assuming you do as well. Live and find balance Sweepy, and be happy. 🙂

Leave a Reply; Comments Can Be Made Anonymously

