Poetry and personal blog – Spilling my guts to strangers

Poem #22, Contest Entry

my cento

we’ll kiss each kiss other on kiss the kiss
with only the fakebook of beauty for feeling.

the trick is to make it personal:

the chill of closed eyelids,
sleepily indifferent
in the glaring white gap.

let silence drill its hole.
oh, plunge me deep in love—put out
pulley glitches, gully pitches, the reflected gleams,
the places cats won’t go, the climbing out onto the banks. the naked man
all dopey in the glass. he wouldn’t stand alone.

what he needed from me, i have no idea.

*****************************

As suggested by  NaPoWriMo, I used a prompt from poet Danielle Pafunda and also entered her cento contest (I’m entered under the name A D Joyce). A cento is a poem composed entirely of lines from other poems. You can find complete guidelines here, and a list of all the judges here. Bottom line: The three poets who get the most votes will receive twelve signed books of poetry.

Of course, a cento is still a fun little poetry exercise even if you don’t enter the contest!

(This poem and all poems posted during April 2011 are included in the free ebook, “30 Poems, 30 Days: Inside a Poet’s Mind.”)

© Sweepy Jean and Sweepy Jean Explores the (Webby) World, 2011

Comments on: "Poem #22, Contest Entry" (14)

  1. I love the idea of creating poetry from other’s poems! Recycling in the best sense of the word, reborn and new. I know little about poetry, but enjoy reading it…alas I don’t remember much of what I learned of form etc, but I love reading your poetry! Good luck in the contest!

  2. Wow, very nice. “The fakebook of beauty.” Very cool. Good luck, SJ!

  3. You really deserve to win! Good luck!!!

  4. Wow! This one is different…’the trick is to make it personal’. Loved it:)

  5. different i don’t know if it works for me . but i hope it work for you. thank you and god bless

    • Thanks for the well wishes and I appreciate the honesty! Not everything is going to be a home run and getting feedback helps me grow. I was trying to convey the meaning through mood and quirky use of language.

  6. I am amazed how you come up with such powerful verse day after day. I am sure you will the winner!

    • I wish you were a judge, Rimly! :p There are some good entries, we’ll see. It’s a matter of taste. It’s a hard workout but I’m having so much fun with the poetry this month.

  7. What a great prompt and I loved your offering! I hope you win girlie. Great work as usual!

Leave a Reply; Comments Can Be Made Anonymously

