Poetry and personal blog – Spilling my guts to strangers

Bear With Me

If I can’t give you the best of me,
Then take all I have to give
Today. If this is not all,
Then consider it the majority,
Though just a  bit more than half.
If it is less than that,
Take it anyway:
It is given freely–
With love.

(This poem and all poems posted during April 2011 are included in the free ebook, “30 Poems, 30 Days: Inside a Poet’s Mind.”)

© Sweepy Jean and Sweepy Jean Explores the (Webby) World, 2011

Comments on: "Poetry Challenge: Poem #21" (7)

  1. Touching and telling simultaneous….

  2. Love is, above all, the gift of oneself. Beautiful!

  3. I would do away without the last two lines; it’s OK for a poem to leave the reader hanging.

    I’d even keep the colon.

    At this point you can probably tell I like a dash of puzzlement in my poetry.

  4. @Gabi @Kathleen @Rimly @Doug @Debra Thanks so much for your comment! ❤
    @JMB Really interesting suggestion! That would kind of underscore the point of not having all to give.

Leave a Reply; Comments Can Be Made Anonymously

