Poetry and personal blog – Spilling my guts to strangers

sensation

you can
pick up the
reddest apple on
display
touch it turn
it around
inspect it for
marks or bruises
but biting
is the only
way to
really know

(This poem and all poems posted during April 2011 are included in the free ebook, “30 Poems, 30 Days: Inside a Poet’s Mind.”)

© Sweepy Jean and Sweepy Jean Explores the (Webby) World, 2011

Comments on: "Poetry Challenge: Poem #19" (11)

  1. Beautiful and delicious poem 😀

  2. Something like life you have to experience it to know it. Lovely!

  3. So true. And I hate having to inspect apples or other fruit. LOL

  4. Thats true but you need to buy it first.. I found out that the hard way many many year ago lol

    http://jpweddingphotograpy.blogspot.com/2011/04/crane-update-plus-you-have-been-looking.html

  5. suburbansatsangs said:

    Ah, the red apple. I like the imagery.

  6. So true Sweepy. So true.

  7. @Diana Thank you! 🙂
    @Rimly Yes, indeed, very much like it. ❤
    @Jeffrey I like it but it's such a crap shoot. Have you ever knocked on a cantaloupe? Lol!
    @Thanks, Coreena!
    @Jim "have to buy it first" That's how they get ya! 😉
    @Tamara It's infamous! 😉
    @Tameka Thanks for stopping by! xox

  8. Girlfriend, I just read all your latest and you take my breath away. Seriously, I ask a lot who is the voice of our generation and I see you as being one of those rare voices. I know you are doing this from prompts, but honestly you make art of that and that…that keeps the men from the boys so to speak. Love you girl. I am here for you know that. ❤

    • Not to toot my own horn, but not all of them are from prompts, only where indicated. Ok, yes, I am tooting my own horn! Lol! As for being “the voice” I don’t know but I’m glad there are those who can relate. I love knowing you are out there. I’m here for you too, Sis! xox

  9. existential with good taste… and reading another way …the Adam/Eve component.

Leave a Reply; Comments Can Be Made Anonymously

