Poetry and personal blog – Spilling my guts to strangers

How to Write a Poem

Sense it
Then think it then feel it
Then chew it eat it drink it
Vomit it
Sense it
Then think it then feel it
Then chew it eat it drink it
Vomit it
Sense it
Then think it then feel it,
Then chew it eat it drink it
Vomit it
Until you stop

*****************************

Part of the NaPoWriMo 201130 poems in 30 days challenge.

(This poem and all poems posted during April 2011 are included in the free ebook, “30 Poems, 30 Days: Inside a Poet’s Mind.”)

© Sweepy Jean and Sweepy Jean Explores the (Webby) World, 2011

Comments on: "Poetry Challenge: Poem #14" (11)

  1. That’s a description of the editing process.

    You chisel away until you free the angel trapped in the marble.

    • Indeed. Who was it that said that the real writing happens in the editing? I love your way with words.

      • Freeing the angel trapped in the marble is, I think, Michelangelo’s notion, not mine.

        James Michener once said “I am a shit writer. I’m a great rewriter.” (If memory serves.)

        The more I write, the more I realize that it’s very hard to keep it simple. In many ways my favorite writer is Lao Tzu. I bet the Tao Te King is superb in the original Chinese.

  2. so that my problem ha ha ha lol like it do you want to clean up the mess? thank you and God bless

  3. ok, now I’m dizzy:)

  4. So much vomit may induce poetic bulimia. But I’ll chew on that some more. 🙂

  5. My stomach is churning. I think I am about to vomit out some poetic stuff soon. LOL!

Leave a Reply; Comments Can Be Made Anonymously

