Poetry and personal blog – Spilling my guts to strangers

Idiot

Absurd and lethal,
You are as unhealthy
As a full-on pork loin–
Raw and fat–
Slathered with
butter cream icing.

Still,
I love your mortal foolishness.

*****************************

I did not use the NaPoWriMo prompt for this poem.

Instead, I looked through my random scraps of paper I often write notes on, and tinkered with this one I must have scribbled down months ago. Maybe I should have left it as a scribble…

(This poem and all poems posted during April 2011 are included in the free ebook, “30 Poems, 30 Days: Inside a Poet’s Mind.”)

© Sweepy Jean and Sweepy Jean Explores the (Webby) World, 2011

Comments on: "30 Days, 30 Poems: NaPoWriMo #3" (12)

  1. easylifestyles said:

    I love being with my family and I really enjoy reading your blog very much. Thanks for sharing this excellent job. Feel free to stop by our Easy Lifestyle website anytime.

    A March Madness Poem

  2. Is it wrong that it makes me hungry Sweepy? lol Ok seriously…very good and provocative…comparing a poison love to taking into ourselves something we know hurts us, or has the potential to hurt us…very nice! Go girl!

  3. One reading it reads hard…the next reading it feels light and affirming ….which makes it a good poem indeed.

    I think the word choice of “Still,” makes it so good.

    Regards,
    Doug

  4. Now I want to go and raid the fridge Missy. I liked the poem. Mortal foolishness makes it for me.
    xoxox
    Jess

  5. “mortal foolishness” yes indeed. Keep it by all means!

Leave a Reply; Comments Can Be Made Anonymously

