Poetry and personal blog – Spilling my guts to strangers

chromatic

thoughts cascade
in rhythm like
a new kind
of jazz. chord
progressions never
heard before
sing their
awakening. i
march in
syncopation,
stepping
over lifeless
bodies. this is
not a dirge,
rather the
memoirs of
a survivor.

*****************************

For this poem I used the NaPoWriMo prompt:

Write a poem that incorporates the titles of three books you have in your house. [Jazz, Toni Morrison; The Awakening, Kate Chopin; The Memoirs of a Survivor, Doris Lessing.]

(This post is included in the March 2012 edition of the Third Sunday Blog Carnival.)

(This poem is included in the free ebook, “30 Poems, 30 Days: Inside a Poet’s Mind.”)

© Sweepy Jean and Sweepy Jean Explores the (Webby) World, 2011

Comments on: "30 Days, 30 Poems: NaPoWriMo #2" (14)

  1. I really like this poem, it flows!
    Mary

  2. easylifestyles said:

    I love being with my family and I really enjoy reading your blog very much. Thanks for sharing this excellent job. Feel free to stop by our Easy Lifestyle website anytime.

    A March Madness Poem

  3. Hello! You commented on my blog, I’m really glad you’re enjoying my writing and are able to relate to it (:

    I very much enjoy yours too! Especially this one. It has a certain cadence as far as poems go and I think it’s something really special here.

  4. great. It feels like good jazz, and that ending is strong!

  5. Thanks, that’s what I was hoping for!

  6. […] Joyce presents 30 Days, 30 Poems: NaPoWriMo #2 posted at Sweepy Jean Explores the (Webby) World. This poem, titled “chromatic,” was […]

  7. This is very evocative, Adrienne. And you’ve slipped the three titles in seamlessly. I’ll have to try this!

  8. I take it you listen to a fair amount of jazz?

  9. Just realized I never replied to your comment on my blog–the one that led me to this poem last year. So now I’ve replied. 🙂 And it gave me a chance to come and read this poem again.

    • Ha! You’re so sweet, Chris. Since my reply here, I’ve come to appreciate jazz a lot more. I’m glad I had a chance to read your poem again, as well. I still love it. “the seductions of rice”

Leave a Reply; Comments Can Be Made Anonymously

