Poetry and personal blog – Spilling my guts to strangers

Scary Movies

The blog Written in Blood contains reviews of movies in the horror genre. In a recent post, nine survey questions were presented asking readers to give their opinions on the subject of horror films.

With blogger John Mountain’s permission, I’m posting my answers to the survey here. I love movies in general though I’m not a horror buff per se. But I’ve seen more than my fair share of horror movies.

Which brings me to my own question: What exactly defines a movie as a “horror” movie? It would seem to me that the range is wider than is thought. Anyway, the questions and answers are below.

The Survey Says

1. Do you like horror films? If yes, why? If no, why not? I like horror films because a good one connects with the audience on a basic, visceral level. They tap into our vulnerabilities as humans.

2. Do you prefer horror films about vampires, werewolves, ghosts, or other such supernatural fare? Do you like slasher films or do you prefer your horror to be more rooted in reality? I like them all equally, if strong characters are involved, not just an action-packed story. However, I think the supernatural stands the test of time (eg, Twilight, Paranormal Activity). Slasher films have to work harder to remain fresh from one film to the other. Are there any pure reality based horror films (eg, The Hills Have Eyes? The Roommate?) It seems they are an offshoot of slashers.

3. What is your favorite horror film of all time? Psycho is my favorite horror movie of all time (I consider it a slasher). In terms of its influence on films coming after it and well as its continued impact on anyone who sees it, it’s the standard by which others are measured. A close second for slashers is A Nightmare on Elm Street (somebody haunting your dreams? It could happen!). For the supernatural, The Blair Witch Project (innovative), hands down, followed by The Exorcist and the American version of The Ring ( both just plain scary). Oh, and Night of the Living Dead (1968) and …

4. What is your least favorite horror film of all time? Why? Silent Night, Deadly Night. It just is.

5. Do you have a favorite horror actor or actress? I can’t say that I know many of them,

6. Do you have a favorite character? Freddie Krueger.

7. What is the scariest thing you have ever seen in a horror film? The final minutes of the Blair Witch Project, a film people either love or hate. The screaming, the darkness, the spotty lighting, then the final image of the dude standing in the corner and the dropping of the handheld camera: that was the last thing I thought of for a few nights after seeing it.

8. What decade do you think was the best decade for horror films? That’s a hard question because each decade has its own unique stamp, but I’ll say the either the 1960s or 70s because since then, there have not been many truly new ideas.

9.Who is the best horror film director in your humble opinion? I’m not really qualified to answer that but the best known to me is Wes Craven. I choose him on the strength of Last House on the Left (1972; is that considered a horror film?) and the Nightmare on Elm Street series.

Other Sites of Interest

Here’s a list of movie blogs (on various genres not necessarily horror) that I follow on Facebook and/or Twitter. Enjoy!

Criminal Movies – Examining movies about the anti-hero.

The Invisible Art – All about film editing, film making, film. news, trailers,visual effects news and anything else related to films.

Mocking Movies – Irreverent movie review website.

Movie Confessional – A poet and movie addict confesses which movies she loves and why.

Wider Screenings – An interactive online archive of transgressive cinema.

Mudane Rambling – Humorous movie reviews and other movie talk from someone who is aspiring to be a great writer but is too lazy to try (her words, not mine!).

© Sweepy Jean and Sweepy Jean Explores the (Webby) World, 2011

Comments on: "Scary Movies" (32)

  1. Thanks for mentioning my blog(THE INVISIBLE ART) Sweepy.John Mountain’s blog is too scary but I love his blog as there’s a lot of info on horror movies there.I often visit your blog Sweepy….your blog is a very clean and I love reading your poems. 😀

    Visit THE INVISIBLE ART
    Visit WE HAVE A STORY

  2. Laurie Blair said:

    “Rosemary’s Baby” still knocks them all out of the water!

  3. […] here: Scary Movies « Sweepy Jean Explores the (Webby) World 3.0 Tags: anti, criminal-movies, else-related, examining, invisible, irreverent, mocking-movies, […]

  4. Sweepy Jean I I answered his questions the other night on his site… I don’t think I am the scary movie “fan”
    Do you want me to answer here to????
    xoxo
    Jess

  5. Though I am not a movie bug,reading you getting curious.Well done.
    Thanks

  6. Love John’s blog – he is a great critic and reviewer. I in the meantime stay away from horror. It muddles my head up for too long : ) However, if I do get a fancy for it anytime – I will remember to check on your recommendations here. THanks for the post Sweepy : )

  7. Thank you for the shout out! I am indeed far too lazy to try 🙂

  8. John’s blog is a lot of fun and it’s awesome to see you running with the questions over here! Big thanks also for mentioning my blog! Since I’m here, I’ll give some answers
    1. Do you like horror films? If yes, why? If no, why not? Yep, big fan, I go on binges sometimes. Horror films are a safe way of easing into the fact that the world can be a scary place.
    2. Do you prefer horror films about vampires, werewolves, ghosts, or other such supernatural fare? Do you like slasher films or do you prefer your horror to be more rooted in reality? Supernatural stuff is best, but only when done right. (Exorcist, Rosemary’s Baby)
    3. What is your favorite horror film of all time? “The Evil Dead”
    4. What is your least favorite horror film of all time? Why? Right now…the latest Friday the 13th remake.
    5. Do you have a favorite horror actor or actress? Bruce Campbell
    6. Do you have a favorite character? Ash from the Evil Dead Movies.
    7. What is the scariest thing you have ever seen in a horror film? hmmm…maybe the scene in “Wolf Creek” when the girl that looked like she was the hero got stabbed in the spine.
    8. What decade do you think was the best decade for horror films? I’d say right now. More independent horror coming out than ever, and much of it good.
    9.Who is the best horror film director in your humble opinion? Roman Polanski

    • It is a fun blog. I’m so glad John gave me the ok to do this. It was nice to step into another realm for a while. It was a pleasure to mention you, and a smart thing too, as your answers rock!! #7 – Ouch!!!! Thanks, Brent! xoxox

  9. After seeing The Exorcist I was horror-struck. I came home wanting to clutch a cross and sleep with a bible under my pillow.

    Last week on TMC I watched Whatever Happened to Baby Jane, starring Betty Davis and Joan Crawford. Don’t know if this is considered a horror flick or not, but it certainly is a psychological thriller.

    Have always thought Psycho was the greatest.

    Does anyone remember Let’s Scare Jessica to Death? For some reason that science fiction/fantasy and suspense/horror movie was unforgettable.

  10. So, I grew up on horror films, my dad is a big fan of them. The first one I ever saw was Lizzy Borden, I couldn’t sleep for weeks I was 10 lol Then at the age of 13 we decided we would sneak into see the Exorcist!!! This is when it first came out OMG what a mistake that was I was so scared I cried and couldnt sleep for months…I think someone else mentioned they went home and clutched the bible I think I read it 100 times…Even went to church and got holy water to spread around my house…. LOL I need to run on over to answer the questions I have been behind thanks fo rthis post so I know where to go next : )

    • Lol! I love it. You bring back memories for me, too, as a teen sneaking into movies from one quad to the other. They had double features, those days. Got more bang from our couple of bucks!

  11. I like scary movies but my husband can’t stand them! “IT” always freaked me out, even though some of the older movies don’t have quite the same effect on me anymore because special effects have gotten so good that some of the older films just look much more fake than they used to years ago! “The Ring” was really freaky. I’m the type though to close my eyes during half a movie!

  12. I enjoy a horror movie once in awhile, but am more a mystery or comedy fan:) Enjoyed reading the post and all of the comments!

  13. I agreed with you on Psycho , Had a hard time taking a shower for weeks after lol

    Exorcist also scared the @#@#@ out of me

    Again thank you for selecting me.
    http://jpweddingphotograpy.blogspot.com/

  14. I love horror movies! They are so much fun! There’s something about having the *&^% scared out of you in the safety of your own home.

    For me it is movies like The Blair Witch Project and Carrie that always freak me out. But I like the movies like the Final Destination series, too – just for their shock factor. 🙂

  15. After seeing Jaws at the drive-in with my parents who made me wear pyjamas and pretend to be asleep as a 10 year old, I couldn’t put my feet on our green carpet for months just in case I got taken under!

    Cheers A

  16. Correction… 8 years old hehe

    • Awww, poor A! Lol! It’s so funny and cute how our imaginations work at that age (or now!) Plus, there’s nothing like the drive-in when you’re a kid. The screen is so big!

  17. Hi Sweepy Jean, I am not a fan of horror movies. I really do want to watch them but I end up screaming and think that I am actually in the movie! Then to make things worse I cannot sleep and imagine there is something underneath my bed! Horrible!!!

Leave a Reply; Comments Can Be Made Anonymously

