Poetry and personal blog – Spilling my guts to strangers

High Honors

When it rains it pours, and in my case, this is a good thing!

Another of my fellow bloggers has honored me with her recognition. Janine Ripper of Reflections of a Redhead bestowed on me and others  the Versatile Blogger award. Janine has a personal blog and she talks about a wide range of topics with honesty and heart. Please visit her blog.

So, here’s the deal: I’m supposed to say seven things about myself and then share the award with seven other people. The award winners are listed below but first, more about me!

About Me

I talk a lot about myself on this blog but there’s always more to say. Always! Such as:

1. When Pandora Poikilos told me I was the featured blog this week at her site, Peace From Pieces, I thought that it would be a great opportunity to write a post a day for the entire week. However, after writing one post and merely thinking about having to write six more in as many days, I felt extremely tired, so I abandoned that idea. I’ll let you fill in the blank for what that says about me.

2. I love playing video games. A few years ago I would have said I was a hardcore gamer, especially of role-playing games (Final Fantasy, anyone?) and first-person shooters. But now I am more likely to play a casual game such as Ice Cream Parlor Tycoon.

3. Knitting and crocheting are a hobbies of mine, mostly of afghans and baby blankets because they are even and flat. I made a poncho for my daughter once. It fit her like a straight jacket but she loved me for it anyway. The legwarmers I made for her fall down around the ankles. She pins them in place.

4.  At least twice a week, I must go to Dunkin’ Donuts, a ubiquitous coffee and pastry franchise, and order a blueberry ice coffee with cream and seven packets of Equal artificial sweetner. Not six, not eight. Seven. And I can taste the difference.

5. I really love movies. There’s a story there that maybe I’ll blog about one day. I like almost every genre, except the Western, although there is one Western that is one of my favorite movies. It’s called Johnnie Guitar. The good guy in white and the bad guy in black are women, and the strangeness continues. Plus, there’s a shootout at the end. Awesome.

6. I used nicotine gum to quit smoking about six years ago, and now I am almost always chewing sugarless gum.

7. I love when we set the clock back an hour in the fall and hate it when we have to set it ahead for daylight savings time, as we in the US must do tonight. Don’t forget!

Award Winners

Choosing seven bloggers to give this award to was not easy as I read so many wonderful blogs everyday. Ultimately, I went for those among my newest discoveries. No pressure for anyone to say seven things about yourself or share the award with seven other people. Just know that I appreciate what you uniquely bring to the table and I look forward to reading more from you in the future!

I encourage everybody to visit these blogs, you won’t be sorry.

1. Jim Brandano: Jim Brandano: Florida Wedding Photographer – He photographs much more than weddings and each blog post is a great read.

2. Debra El-Ramey: Pure and Simple – An enlightened poet and teacher whose topics run the gamut and whose depth always astonishes me.

3. Kriti Mukherjee: howaboutthis – A wonderful writer whose blog contains her own facts and fiction, as well as diary entries from her brilliant and talented father.

4. Jessica Brant: Finding One’s Way – Sometimes heartbreaking and other times hilarious, this risk-taking blogger is grounded in real-world scenarios.

5. Tameka Mullins: Lyric Fire – A great poet who also offers inspiration for those of us in the writing life and for anyone living life.

6. John Magnet Bell: Start Your Novel – His writing prompts are miniature short stories in and of themselves. His articles on writing are insightful and on point.

7. Jill: Strawberry Freckles – She’s writing a novel, has taken on a 30-day photo challenge, and blogs about being a mom. The title of her latest post is “Can You Really Orgasm From Giving Birth.” What’s not to love?

© Sweepy Jean and Sweepy Jean Explores the (Webby) World, 2011

Comments on: "High Honors" (36)

  1. What a lovely post! Congrats on being recognized and honored for your work Sweepy! Thanks also for introducing us to some wonderful bloggers. I’m honored to be among them (Lyric Fire) and look forward to getting to know some new writers.

    Blessings!
    Tamstarz

  2. Congratulations Sweepy Jean on the well-deserved Versatile Blogger award. I enjoyed reading the 7 facts about you, and couldn’t help laughing over the straightjacket poncho you made your daughter, and the baggy legwarmers. I’d stick with the flat afghans and baby blankets too 🙂

    And thank you – thank you ever so much for passing this award along to me. What a delightful surprise! *Huge hug* I just need to figure out how to put awards on my blog. Help is welcome!

    • Lol, indeed. I’m glad my daughter is so patient with me.

      As for the award, I think you can drag the image to your desktop. Since you’re using Blogspot, I don’t know what to do after that!

  3. wow, thank you 🙂 I like your descriptions after each blogger…gonna go check them out 🙂 and I may not comment every time you publish, but I get your blog in my gmail inbox and read it everyday! you are amazing with your words…very eloquent!

    • Not to worry! It’s impossible to comment on every post, for me as well, even though there’s a lot of good stuff out there. Just not enough time. Subscriptions and blogging groups are good reminders of what is out there and help to keep them all visible.

  4. Ditto what Jill said. I find reading blogs in email makes sure I don’t miss any posts, and is a wonderful way to keep up with what I read. Congratulations on your award, and continued success blogging! Those personal facts had me giggling. 🙂

  5. congratulations on this wonderful accomplishment!

  6. Sweepy Jean,
    Lovely lady, I am floored that you thought of me (Finding One’s Way) and I am honored! Thank You so much. I’m glad you had to write about yourself and opened your life up to us. You are an amazing person. I just watched Quigelly Down Under for the first time yesterday and I have to say it was pretty good. I am going to check out Johnnie Guitar sound mighty interesting. I will be read the above mentioned blogs.
    Again thank you sweetness
    xoxo
    Jessica

  7. Lovely and congratulations

    A

  8. Its nearly 11 p.m. and this is the first time today I got a chance to open my laptop and catch up with the world – thank you so very much for making my day and reminding me why I cannot afford to stay away from beautiful people like you. You always make me happy – just by being you and with your fantastic posts – Thank you thank you thank you!!!
    Side note – love all the bloggers that you have mentioned above too : )

  9. High honors indeed. I am flattered, thank you. 🙂
    Now I must familiarize myself with the other blogs you mentioned.

  10. You picked some great and well deserved bloggers to bestow the award to next and I am sure that coming from yoursefl the accolade will mean even more. Keep up the good work – I look forward to your pposts and to 1+1 Wednesdays. x

  11. Well first congratulations we all like to be recognized for what we do. In the same vein I want to thank you for selecting me as one of your bloggers. I really appreciate your comments and your feelings. I also respect all the other bloggers you selected 🙂 Again
    Thank YOu very much and I will do my part in Mondays blog.

    Jim

  12. Well done Ms. Sweepy Jeans!! You are awesome and deserve the award!

  13. Congratulations Sweepy Jean. Thank you for sharing a little about yourself. Like you tried to give up smoking but unlike you I have not been able to give up :)) Amongst the award winners except for Jill and John, I follow the rest and they are brilliant writers. Cheers once again.

  14. Congratulations Sweepy….very well deserved!! I look forward to your posts….:)

  15. Congrats Sweepy….That aptly suits you…..and all i could say is…you swept me of my feet by your lovely poems….

  16. Congratulations! The sugar thing is really funny! I can never taste the difference 😦

    And hey….you won it again! so now you could choose seven more! Yippee for you girl!

  17. Well done! Thanks for sharing !

  18. […] being handed out. In the past few months, I’ve received a few, some I acknowledged here and here, and the rest I acknowleded personally so as not to disturb my “flow.” So here’s […]

  19. I can see you flying – I really can : )

Leave a Reply; Comments Can Be Made Anonymously

