Poetry and personal blog – Spilling my guts to strangers

Divorce (poem)

You are my primal fear,
My seminal hurt,
And though we left you–
Mom and I–
Through the years,
When I look back,
I always think that you left me.

© Sweepy Jean and Sweepy Jean Explores the (Webby) World, 2011

Comments on: "Divorce (poem)" (21)

  1. Powerful poem. I liked it a lot.

  2. wow. so true. my parents divorced and i remember feeling that way.

  3. A child’s keen perception. Sometimes a parent’s leaving isn’t physical but emotional, and a child’s heart (and a mom’s) knows the truth.

  4. Wow. This hit me.

  5. Touching poem, I hurt with the child.

  6. […] me, among other things, issues of abandonment related to my father underlies much my writing.  The poem I posted yesterday speaks to my donnée directly, which I rarely do; I usually deal with the […]

  7. Lovely comments, all, they mean a lot to me.
    @ Bryan @ Angii Thank you so much.
    @ Jill {hugs}
    @Debra So true. xox
    @Sherri Thanks for reading!
    @Sulekha ❤

  8. Wow, I definitely know what you mean!

  9. good poem if i only knew, how too heal the hurt, thank you God bless

  10. Jean you write with such honesty, I am touched. I understand that Divorce is so hard on children although I was not a child of divorced parents. Sometimes the abandonment is worse when the parents stay together, that I know about. I sometimes think that our biggest challenge in life is to fix what our parents screwed up. I am speaking in generalities but I do think it is so true. Might be why I never wanted children.. You keep writing and I’ll keep reading

  11. Honestly sad

    A

  12. What a beautiful post – very deep too. Loved it Sweepy …

  13. Nothing could have been a better way to jot the feelings,than this.
    Free flowing .sensitive with controlled emotion.
    Nirupam

  14. @Michele I’m so glad you came by to read!
    @Roy That is so sweet. God bless you too.
    @Jim Sigh, I know what you mean, and as we speak I am sure I have provided my kids with screw ups to fix. But as long as we do our best … maybe you’ll change your mind. 🙂 Thanks for your kind words.
    @A @Kriti Thank you and {{hugs}} to you both
    @Nirupam What a compliment! I’m honored you would say that, thank you.

  15. I can relate…. I was thinking about that today how it would be if I were divorced and how the kids would feel.. Even being apart is hard
    Jessica

  16. Touching poem Sweepy, everyone hurts in divorces. The children the deepest, they are left with so many unanswered questions. To afraid to ask… to mad… then later are left with what your poem says…. “When I look back, I always think that you left me.”

    Breaks my heart … *hugs Sweepy*

  17. So sad and touching. In our decision we never realize that we also make choices for our children. They have no choice really and no say.

  18. @Debbie @Rimly Thank you so much for your sweet comments. xox

  19. A powerful poem! Divorce is so sad and I honestly believe you never truly recover.

Leave a Reply; Comments Can Be Made Anonymously

