Poetry and personal blog – Spilling my guts to strangers

Bedroom (poem)

Cup candle pills scarf button paper paper paper book comb bag dryer window cold air air floor tissue lotion necklace ring blanket bed empty fear hamper shoe sock skirt mirror mirror image shadow thought clock minute drawer hanger closet hanging wearing headache time heavy empty forward out

__________________________

This poem was inspired by a post from fellow blogger Veronica Campos-Hallstrom of Creative Club Studio for Two Cent Tuesday. She encouraged her readers to be creative with found objects. I looked around where I was sitting at the moment and used the objects I saw to create the poem.

© Sweepy Jean and Sweepy Jean Explores the (Webby) World, 2011

Comments on: "Bedroom (poem)" (15)

  1. Yogasavy said:

    Interesting…. trying to recite it in one breath!

  2. Isn’t it great for your creativity to challenge yourself?? Keep challenging and we keep learning. I also think we fight off our brain slowing down. Damn I hope so!!!!

  3. sulekha said:

    Try and make a poem using all these words. Liked your idea.

  4. hey sweep you been spying on me or is it march madness like your poem come see mine if your have the time. lol having fun thank you and god bless

  5. I read it out loud, and it has a great cadence to it. I bet you did too, and that’s why it sounds as good as it does. Poetry began as an oral art form, so—

  6. Hi Sweepy,a different type of writing,maintain your usp.shall read it again.

    Your comment to my post ‘The concept of time-2’ was a booster to my motivaions.

  7. Nice! I like the words/objects you chose and how your placed them in your poem, which gave a real sense of mood. You juxtaposed banal objects with “loaded” words and word sequences that suggested fear and desolation. I especially liked the ending: “time heavy empty forward out.” Thanks for sharing, SJ!

  8. Awesome to know I was inspiration in some small part of your day. I posted a shout-out for readers to open their eyes to their surroundings and the objects in front of them. You opened your eyes wide. Thanks for your post!

  9. Great idea…trying to read that in one go!

  10. SweepyJean,
    Very Clever lol Now thats my type of poem writing lol

    xoxo
    Jessica

  11. Thanks, everyone for giving my poem a look and for your kind words!

    @Savira, don’t know how much luck you had but take it easy! 😉
    @Jim I hope so, too, but it’s fun anyway!
    @Sulekha Thanks for stopping by!
    @Roy Umm, March madness, I guess? I liked your poem as well!
    @John I absolutely do, every time. Poems definitely are meant to be read aloud, so I pay attention to rhythm and cadence just as much as any other device.
    @Nirupam, thanks for reading my poem. I enjoyed my visit to your blog.
    @Kathleen You nailed what I was going for. I’m grateful for that! ❤
    @Veronica Inspiration in any form makes my day! Keep creating and inspiring!
    @Hajra You, too: Take a breath if you need to!
    @Jessica I'm so glad you enjoyed it! 🙂

  12. Sweepy, keeping it fresh, I like it.

  13. I feel like I am getting a glimpse into your bedroom. ha ha! I have not read Veronica’s post…going there now.

  14. I love your posts, you always come up with something that makes us think!

    When I read it, I read it with a rhythm, it would go great as a song.

    Looking around me at the moment, my poem would be a lot longer than yours, I seem to work in a little bit of organised chaos

  15. @Scott Tryin’! Thank you. 🙂
    @Melissa You absolutely are getting a glimpse, from the inside out! 😉
    @Maureen Thanks for your lovely comments.

Leave a Reply; Comments Can Be Made Anonymously

