Poetry and personal blog – Spilling my guts to strangers

Hello, Hello

Every so often, I define who I am on this blog–as much for myself as for my visitors. I like to compare changes over time.

I’m a poet, and my biggest goal when I started this blog was to free myself emotionally so I could express myself without self doubt or fear of judgment from others. I’m happy to say that these concerns loom less large than they ever have before.

I view this blog as an experiment and an adventure. Sometimes, I am random.

So as not to bore long-time readers, I will briefly list three things new readers should know about me, then I will list three things about me that I have never mentioned before.

Established Facts

1. I began writing poetry when I was a teenager (see “Cigarettes and Poetry“), but somewhere along the way I gave up serious aspirations of being a writer as married life, motherhood and “practical” concerns took precedence–until now, that is.

2. I’m currently an editor for a medical magazine but in the past couple of years I have been actively pursuing my dreams again of being a published poet.

3. I’m writing a collection of poetry. I don’t post as much poetry on the blog as I used to because I don’t want to hamper my options for formal publication in literary journals. I’m plugging away at it; I’ll let you know if I have any success.

New Factoids

1.  My name is Adriene, I blog as Sweepy Jean, and I write poetry as A D Joyce; however, my son calls me Coot (as in “Old Coot”), many close friends call me Age or Agee, and my childhood nickname is … ok, nevermind.

2. Actually, I told this to one of my blogging friends, but I know all the lyrics to the rock opera Jesus Christ Superstar. It started back in high school.  As soon as I first heard the guitar riff of  “Heaven on Their Minds,” I was hooked. I have since watched some version of it I can’t tell you how many dozen times–especially my VHS and finally DVD of the movie. (I know Godspell, too, but if cornered I will deny it.)

3. When I was in elementary school, I used to read the dictionary for fun.

So there you have it. I’ve ruined my street cred. Anything you want to share?

© Sweepy Jean and Sweepy Jean Explores the (Webby) World, 2011.

Comments on: "Hello, Hello" (49)

  1. 1. thank you
    2. my real name is Manuel
    3. now I know
    4. hello Adriene
    5. hello!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    6. you are gorgeous

  2. Very interesting. Beautiful name Adriene!

    1 Savira
    2 Am complicated

  3. Adriene is a nice name! Glad to see you’ve created this post…:)

    1. My name is what you see btw…
    2. it’s my birthday this March 31…
    3. 29 now… and still enjoying singlehood
    4. loves travelling so if you can try visiting ‘The long and winding road…’
    5. loves cooking too…:)

  4. Thanks for the blog. Lots of great stuff, it’s always so good to keep practising on your writing.
    I always use Jeffrey Scott unless I write poetry, then I use J.A.Scott
    Like you, I’ve posted a lot of poems on my personal journal, but have not posted any new stuff in a while in hopes of perhaps putting together a book.

    • Yeah, I don’t think it’s fair that most journals would think that posting on a blog constitutes prior publication. Then again, if I posted everything here there would be no surprises later on. 😉 Thanks for the kind words!

  5. So fun to learn some things about you. I look forward to reading your poetry and would love to hear about the anthology process. 🙂

  6. You’re one of my favorite artists.

    geo.

  7. I always thought your name was Sweepy Jean..Adriene is such a beautiful name! Great to know these things about you!

  8. Such a beautiful name–love it!

    I love that you feel as if your goal for writing a blog is being accomplished. It makes me feel so much better about my own efforts.

    Look forward to reading your poetry sometime!
    Jenny 🙂

  9. Thought your real name must be Wake Up but maybe that dates me! I struggle with poetry as so much of it looks like pretentious nonsense and Emperor’s New Clothes-ish but there are examples that certainly aren’t. Yours comes from such a significant place that it most certainly is not pretentious, which means all you have to do is give it your best and you do it justice.

    Something you didn’t know about me? Isaac Asimov pinched my bum after signing a copy of his book. It was 1970-something so he got away with it!

    • When I go to that place, I feel as if I’m in a different dimension, I’m not here anymore.

      Which is a great segue to saying that although that was utterly sexist, I would give my right cheek to have Isaac Asimov pinch me! Ha. Incidentally, I could have: he was the keynote speaker at my college graduation. Who better to talk about the future? I wonder if this means you and I are cosmically related…. ❤

  10. I think admitting you read the dictionary just for fun was enough! I understand your love for words and the use of them in your profession so, for that matter, it doesn’t seem so random. Thanks for the smile.

  11. i am old hoot. so hi coot, and read daniel still my favorite book, i like playing with words. and so do you i see.

  12. Spooky how the cyberspace cosmos works.

    I know all the words to the soundtrack of Jesus Christ Superstar. When I was a teenager my friends and I listened to this album over and over again as we all had a crush on a New York city boy (we were townies) and he was very involved in a religious movement at the time. He had been given tickets for a birthday gift to see JCS on Broadway. We wondered if he was going to ask one of us to come. WOOOHOOO he asked me! (Though I’m pretty sure I was his second choice.) So here I was a 16-year-old kid from rural Connecticut, all alone on the train to Penn Station (my parents were actually pretty progressive letting me go) having never been to NYC before. He met me there and we walked all over that night; I remember the vibration of the streets from the subway, seeing prostitutes picking up johns, the incredible skyscrapers (“don’t keep looking up at them, they’ll know you’re a tourist!!”), Jose Feliciano giving a free concert near Times Square, and the delicious experience of seeing a Broadway play at the Mark Hellinger Theatre (which isn’t there any more). I stayed overnight with his funny little grandmother chaperoning. There was actually plastic covers on all the furniture. I’m starting to think this would make a good blog post…

    Oh, and I used to read the dictionary for fun.

    • That sounds like a magical date! There’s nothing like NYC at night, especially before they cleaned up the streets. It’s funny how at certain points our parallel universes intersect! Or something like that…Sure, Laurie, let’s hear some more about the boy from NYC! ❤

  13. Hi Adriene,nice to know “You”…but at the same time,I am feeling a little sad..could always associate Sweepy Jean..with someone else….but what’s in a name…you are different,and thats what makes you unique..will look forward to your posts.

  14. I so enjoy your work and in what you say and believe in. I feel such a peaceful presence within you and I’m so glad that we met. If it’s ok, I would like to add you to my blog as an interesting place to visit if it’s ok with you.

    Peace,
    Terry
    xo

    • Thanks so much, Terry! I appreciate what you do as well. I’m so honored that you would like to add my link to your blog. Of course you may, but right now, I don’t have a blogroll on this site so it won’t be reciprocal, so if you change your mind, I understand. In the mean time I look forward to your future posts! ❤

  15. We are related. . . . I used to love reading the encyclopedia for fun!! Wonderful post teaching us to put ourselves “out there” while doing it yourself! Awesome!

    • It comforting to know I’m not the only one with these idiosyncrasies! 😉 See, I’m still standing, so I guess anybody can do it! Thanks, Martha!

  16. Adriene I love that name.
    I had to laugh Superstar is one of my guilty pleasures. I think Judas was really well done by the actor and shoed his conflict.
    Thanks for the info your a brave soul lol

  17. 1. You make me laugh.
    2. My real name is Sherry
    3. I’m a closet nerd.
    4. The dictionary is one of my favorite books ever written.
    5. I love Grover from Sesame Street – and I’m almost 43.

  18. I was quite curious as to whether your name was Sweepy or not! 🙂

  19. I like Adrienne. And AD Joyce sounds so literary. I wish you all the best with your poetry collection. You can always post more of your poems on your blog after publishing in journals. I’m looking forward to reading these. Reading the dictionary in elementary school is a dead giveaway… A born writer!
    In elementary school my imagination got me in lots of trouble. But I’ll save this for a future post 🙂

    • “…after publishing in journals.” From your lips to God’s ears, Debra! Thanks so much for your comments, and I would love to hear about your elementary school adventures! ❤

  20. I absolutely adore your name, I would never have guessed it and its strange because although I know you as sweepy I now think of Rocky (I know what you are thinking – WHAT!!!!) LOL no a strong woman, I think we always knew that but one that has amazing untapped potential. I think we’ve only tipped the surface here and there is so much more to come. Thank you for sharing it really is great to get to know the writer beneath the blog 😀

  21. Wow – I am impressed! I know all of the words to ‘Annie’ (I know, maybe not one to shout about.

  22. […] most helpful post was Hello Hello. This was the post where I revealed my name for the first time on the blog, as well as some other […]

  23. Great Post Sweepy Jean. Never apologise for knowing all the words to Jesus Christ Superstar. One of my best romantic memories are tied in with this film. A guy I had a serious crush on cut grass to earn the money to bring me to see this. “I don’t know how to Love him” is an all time favourite of mine.

  24. I always love reading these personal posts. Thanks for sharing. And luck with your aspirations!

Leave a Reply; Comments Can Be Made Anonymously

