Poetry and personal blog – Spilling my guts to strangers

My Valentine 2011

This post is part of the Valentine’s Love Letter Fest hosted by blogging friend Pamela Rossow at Pammener’s Blog.

Love is such a tricky topic for me but instead of venting about the real-life drama that is going on with me right now, I’ll just talk about the top 5 love songs of all time! Well, actually, not of all time, but my top 5 of all time–although that also needs a disclaimer. I’m just going to go with my top 5 love songs on my MP3 player at the moment…. These are dedicated to the one I love.

5. Loves Me Like a Rock – Paul Simon
This song is simply about a mother’s solid and unconditional love for her child. The gospel music arrangement is catchy and fun, and resonates with me. The backing vocals by the legendary gospel group, the Dixie Hummingbirds, is sublime.

4. Through the Fire – Chaka Khan
Anything Chaka sings pretty much blows me away. For me, she epitomizes everything I like in a woman singer: warmth, sexiness, and strength. The song lyrics demonstrate what true commitment is:

Through the fire
To the limit, to the wall
For a chance to be with you
I’d gladly risk it all
Through the fire
Through whatever, come what may
For a chance at loving you
I’d take it all the way
Right down to the wire
Even through the fire

3. Strawberry Letter 23 – The Brothers Johnson

In the garden, I see
West purple shower bells and tea
Orange birds and river cousins
Dressed in green

Pretty music I hear
So happy and loud
Blue flower echo
From a cherry cloud

‘Nuff said.

2.  As – Stevie Wonder
I could have complied this list exclusively with Stevie Wonder’s love songs. He is truly my all-time favorite recording artist. I choose this song because in their entirety, the lyrics encompass the basic components of the universe.

As around the sun the earth knows she’s revolving
And the rosebuds know to bloom in early May
Just as hate knows love’s the cure
You can rest your mind assured
That I’ll be loving you always

1. Golden – Jill Scott
This is the song I want to listen to when I am feeling confident and empowered or when I don’t feel that way and need inspiration.

I am my own Valentine today.

I dedicate this song to me as I’m learning new ways everyday to fall in love with myself.

I’m taking my own freedom
Putting it in my song
Singing loud and strong
Grooving all day long
I’m taking my freedom
Putting it in my stroll
I’ll be high-steppin’ y’all
Letting the joy unfold

© Sweepy Jean and Sweepy Jean Explores the (Webby) World, 2011

Comments on: "My Valentine 2011" (20)

  1. My heart and spirit whisper to me that I know what’s going on, but just want you to know that whatever it is I’m here for you to vent on if you need. Love your song list…makes me think I should do one of my own 😉 Sending lots of love, Sweepy…you are never far from my heart ❤

    • That is so sweet, Lisa, thank you! I appreciate you being there and I feel you. I would like you hear your soundtrack so please do make a list! Lots of love to you, too. xox {{hugs}]

  2. Great song choices!!! I love Strawberry Letter 23. 🙂 I sang it at karaoke once. hehe.

  3. Beautiful list, beautiful notions. Beautiful lady. Happy Valentine’s Day. 🙂

  4. Thanks for sharing these! Especially love Jill Scott, one of my faves!

    This is a HARD category to narrow down. Here are a few more to consider: Can’t Hide Love, by Earth, Wind and Fire. Anita Baker, Sweet Love. Erykah Badu, Next Lifetime. For me, it’s Chaka Khan’s I Feel For You (memories!). Aretha, I Say a Little Prayer (OMG, gives chills). For hip-hop, loved Salt ‘n Pepa, Shoop. And TLC, Baby, Baby, Baby.

    And for a duo, how about Ain’t No Mountain High Enough, Tammi Terrell and Marvin Gaye.

    • Yes, yes, yes, yes!! I love these, Kathleen! Wonderful EW&F choice (they also have a ton of great loves songs) and when Sweet Love came out, I think I played it continuously for months! Thanks for stopping by! ❤

  5. What a wonderful twist, I’m never disappointed to come here.

    I don’t know Strawberry Letter 23 but I shall go check it out and I love Golden it makes me feel so warm and happy. I can see why it’s on the top of your list 😀

  6. Great list. It is never too late to start living a “Golden Life”. Thanks for sharing a new song and a new artist. Also, I thought it was a creative video and of course, I noticed her jewerly (and was inspired to make something golden).

  7. well jean your may have broke jims heart no elephants. but i think he wil like it, for me i like your choices and post for valintines. my favorites are ray charles-wille nelson’s seven spanish angles, chris ledoux’s , look at you girl, conway twity’s , i’d just love to lay you down, and red foleys on a hill far away.

  8. I like it! and so true Jeanie Love yourself again so you may love us.

    Cheers A

    Or just me either way I’m good

  9. I love your songs of choice. Great picks! And always keep in mind, you have to love yourself before you can love someone else. People tend to look down on people who pamper themselves first. Hmmm, wonder why…
    This was a great post and I’m happy I was able to visit and read it:)

  10. Great minds think alike (Golden) 🙂

    And anything by Chaka and Stevie are my favs! Girl, you got me grooving me now thinking about some of their songs.

    *going over to make me a youtube playlist now* 😀

    ~Kesha

Leave a Reply; Comments Can Be Made Anonymously

