Poetry and personal blog – Spilling my guts to strangers

The Meaning of Life

There’s a saying that everything happens for a reason. Is that true? Or is this a notion someone invented so that we would not suspect our lives are a waste? The concept of the hereafter, I suppose, serves the same function.

Frankly, I believe in both of these ideas. I mean, we must have purpose, right?

If not, why did we bother to evolve as human beings? We might as well all be Neanderthals (not just some of us) figuring out what to do with the lightning-caused fire, getting burned. For what, to pass knowledge down to future generations? Why bother if all our children can really do is procreate and die, maybe become extinct?

In order to keep going every day, we straddle the line of faith and denial–that is, belief in what we cannot prove directly and non-acknowledgment of death, our ultimate fate.

My faith that everything happens for a reason is not blind. Chaos, I think, is a human invention, a byproduct of our need to inject everything with our own will–which, ironically is our nature. True nature, the universe, the course of the planets, the passing of night and day, seeds taking root, our own body mechanics, all of these are regular and predictable. They follow the rules, they stick to a pattern. Each step in the process has a purpose.

Just because we don’t always know what the purpose is doesn’t mean there is no purpose.

As for life after death,  we all live on in some shape or form, either here, up yonder, down below, through our children/ideas/daisies/deeds/reborn selves: It’s all just one continuous circle.

© Sweepy Jean and Sweepy Jean Explores the (Webby) World, 2011

Comments on: "The Meaning of Life" (28)

  1. big questions Sweepy, that people have wrestled with forever. I believe life has a purpose, but whether it’s one we give it or even know is another matter. Personally I like the idea of choosing your own purpose and aiming for it. At least I can have some control over that!

  2. very good article Sweepy ! I agree everyone do need some since of purpose in this world. Without it there would be no need for us to function. Purpose keep us going each day . It gives us meaning to our lives. Faith help us to have hope, without faith or hope there wouldn’t be any cause to dream or to wish or to have desires. We would be dormant, not going any way or doing anything stuck in a box. Never getting out to live life to its fullest. I think at least one of our purposes here on earth.. is to live life to its fullest. Walk in faith always in this life, so that we continue to live on happily into the next life and serve our purpose there as well.

  3. Purpose…..my life’s search…my perpetual question….is there was there a purpose to pain…..I’m still searching…still seeking….purpose…yeh that’s it…purpose…Thank you for this post…..As always…XOXOXOXO

  4. i would think that natural selection, evolution is the only reason .. how we manage, or react to our surroundings is the interesting part .. 🙂

  5. Hello Sweepy! The meaning of life goes is a question that can be answered depending on what you believe in. We are all creatures yearning for the truth. I’m a Christian and believe in every word of the Holy Bible which defines my purpose here on earth.“‘For I know the plans I have for you,’ declared the Lord, ‘plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future’” (Jeremiah 29:11).God’s will, first and foremost, is that we have a relationship with Him through His Son, Jesus Christ. “This is good, and pleases God our Savior, who wants all men to be saved and to come to a knowledge of the truth” (1 Timothy 2:3-4).God wants us to be Christ’s disciples. Be examples of what living a Christian life have to offer. Like I stated before it depends on what you choose to believe. What do you believe?

    God is Love,

    Comfort in Pain

    http://www.comfortableinpain.wordpress.com

    • Thanks for weighing in! I believe in God but I’m not a Christian, and I don’t believe in organized religion. I think that most of the world’s religions point in the same direction, so in my mind, there must be a universal truth.

  6. Today had a good purpose. Life is amazing, even though it has its good and bad, happy and sad times.

  7. Very intense thought processes going on here Sweepy. We have to have some type of purpose or there would be no reason to excel in life. We would have no reason to go on, would we? Or is it just human nature to keep trudging along each day? Just some more thoughts to ponder…

  8. I totaLly believe that everything happens for a reason!
    One door opens and another one closes. To not believe is to give up hope and you might as well go to sleep.

    Nice post!your skinchick

  9. In my most recent post I quote Gregg Levoy, author of Callings, who says, “Ask not, ‘What is the meaning of life,’ but ‘what is the meaning of my life.’ ”

    Every individual life has purpose. I believe that everything happens for a reason. And I agree that “chaos is a human invention, a byproduct of our need to inject everything with our own will… ” So well put.

    • Thank so much, Debra. ❤ Loved your post. I marvel at people who have difficult callings that many of us are not suited for (teachers, nurses, those who care for those with special needs, and so on). I am grateful they are here for the rest of us.

  10. Margaret Waage said:

    A profound question,’What is the meaning of life and what meaning is my life?’ That one comes up every day … when going to a job not particularly interested in doing FOREVER. I think realizing our lives are made up of moments and times we’re not particularly fond of. Surival takes up so much time and yet time is limited. How to use time in a way that is more purposeful (that is subjective and personal and relative to each individual) is the challenge.

  11. Hi jean sweepy …. every life should have a direction and if we do not have direction and purpose it is like to die before you die …..

  12. all that i can say is we should be optimistic and should think everything happens for a reason…..

  13. Hi Sweepy, I agree with the other comments. Everything happens for a reason. Sometimes we don´t understand these reasons but I believe they do add purpose and reason to our lives. Thank you for sharing a great post!

  14. My take on this is, basically:

    Yes, everything happens for a reason. But: a) you don’t have to like it b) you don’t have to understand it.

    Whatever meaning you can find in the world begins with you. In you. You define your reality, it’s not just something that happens to you, or surround you. That’s the glory of being human.

    Does the universe have a purpose? Maybe. But it will be far removed from anything we understand.
    And, you know, I find this inspiring and liberating.

Leave a Reply; Comments Can Be Made Anonymously

