Poetry and personal blog – Spilling my guts to strangers

Spontaneous Combustion

It’s only natural that the New Year brings on thoughts of new beginnings. Recently, I’ve read many great blog posts about resolutions and plans for the future. It’s January 3 (I’m determined to push this out before midnight) and I’m just now getting around to talking about mine.

And therein lies the rub.

According to WordPress stats, I created 35 new posts last year. That number is pathetic considering I began this blog in December 2009 and wrote 7 posts during that month alone. So that means that in 2010, I posted on average less than once a week, and not quite 3 times a month. During the summer, I took a mini break and was lucky to get out a post once a month.

This year, I’m planning to be more spontaneous in posting to this blog. Seriously!

There were many times last year I had a great idea for a post but for one reason or another I decided not to write it right away. Some of these posts I wrote at later dates but the vast majority fell to the wayside. From now on, though, I’m not going to wait and will be spontaneous at least twice a week. That last bit is because “they” say that the key to successful blogging is to post often.

But also, I’m going to spontaneously throw in some well thought out and well-crafted pieces as an element of surprise. Which is kinda what I do anyway, mix up writing styles and topics at my whim, but this year I’m going to do more of it, at regularly scheduled, spontaneous intervals. But I’m going to try not to be too obvious about it.

p.s.  In the interest of spontaneity, don’t hold me to this.

p.p.s  This post is my vision of the coming year and is now part of  2011 Sharing is Caring blogging event hosted by Almost There.

© Sweepy Jean and Sweepy Jean Explores the (Webby) World, 2011

Comments on: "Spontaneous Combustion" (12)

  1. Do what you need to do dear! But I for one will be glad to see you as often as you are willing ❤

  2. hey, it’s not quantity ..it’s quality. I’ve read blogs where they only publish once a week…and they have a great following!!

  3. it’s always great to hear from you no matter how often you post!!

  4. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Lisa Brandel, Sweepy (A D Joyce). Sweepy (A D Joyce) said: Yessss! Before midnight … https://sweepyjean.wordpress.com/2011/01/03/spontaneous-combustion/ […]

  5. Good luck with your goal! I decided how frequently I was going to post before I thought of content. Mostly cos I am a bit of a quitter and I wanted to give myself the discipline of writing regularly. Some of my best posts have been when I have open up a ‘New Post’ without a clue of what I was going to write, that is the greatest buzz ever. I really enjoy what you write and would love to read you more regularly, so hopefully my little RSS button will start buzzing with all your new spontaneous posts!

  6. Writing quality articles is one of the best way of promoting a blog.You have taken a good decision. Thanks for your comment on my blog.

  7. Thanks, all for your encouragement! @Jill and @adeyera, I do believe quality comes first, but like @holdendarko, sometimes I need to challenge myself.

  8. I like your blog, this is my first time here. Ya I’m agree with you that even we have that sense which tell encourage us to write, I advice you to keep writing. If you don’t want to publish it, just save it as a draft, because one day you will need it…

  9. I think this year holds new inspiration and new endeavors for you. I started reading your blog a couple of months ago and you keep me coming back for more. I think the comments about quality not quantity ring true. You are the person you are, you speak from the heart and that holds more people coming back than if you posted several times a week. x

    • Well, I’m glad I discovered your blog, as I also see you as one who speaks from the heart. You, too, seem as though you’re on a journey of self discovery. I say, the sky’s the limit! ❤

  10. […] Sweepy Jean Explores the Webby World – What a box of blog tricks I found here, Sweepy Jean blogs her honest take on things, her loves, her poetry, her writing, it’s all here just for you. […]

Leave a Reply; Comments Can Be Made Anonymously

