Poetry and personal blog – Spilling my guts to strangers

My name is …

Adriene.

My poetry pen name is A D  Joyce.

Sweepy Jean is my blog name.

A Blog is Born

December 10 will be the one-year anniversary of this blog. I have no immediate plans to go anywhere, but I want to take this opportunity to sincerely thank everyone who has ever read my thoughts here and commented on posts. The support over the entire year has been very encouraging.

For those who don’t know, I told only immediate family members and the Internet universe about this blog at first. I’ve since branched out to letting extended family and select friends in on it, including coworkers. If I ever thought that knowledge of this blog could affect my job, I don’t any more, or maybe I’m just past caring. But full disclosure at some point was always the plan and now that I have poetry circulating in the wild hoping for publication, now is as good a time as any to integrate everything.

Sweepy Jean

About two years ago I hastily and randomly thought of the name Sweepy Jean (yes, it’s a play on the lyrics from the Monkee’s song). It was supposed to serve as a cutesy screen name while I learned how to use Twitter, which I knew nothing about and didn’t like at first. It wasn’t until I started blogging that I began to use it regularly.

Before I started blogging, I had been thinking about it for a while, and when I finally decided to take the plunge, I once again used  the name Sweepy Jean as a buffer while I experimented with it. But it soon became clear that there was no turning back as I enjoyed the freedom of saying what I wanted, blogging under an alias.

If Sweepy Jean was a mask, it was used simply to hide my actual name; the experiences and emotions related here are real. If anything, Sweepy Jean helped me to rediscover who I am and gave me the courage to reveal myself.

So nothing will really change. I’ll continue to blog under the name Sweepy Jean; now there’s just another layer of transparency.

A D Joyce

Joyce is my middle name.

I’ve decided not to use either my maiden or married name for my poetry nom de plume. They’re arbitrary, as far as I’m concerned, particularly for me as a woman. My mom thought long and hard before giving me my name. It was a gift given specifically to me and therefore is truly mine.

So where did the A D come from?

I always loved the name Adriene. In my mind, it’s a little exotic but not freakishly so. But when I was a teenager, I met a boy named Adrian. He hated his name so he asked everyone to call him A D. I always thought that was really cool, plus there’s an edginess and a gender neutrality I like about it.

So for those who have been following along with me as I go on my journey, this may fill in some blanks.

For those who are new and those who are just passing through, hello!

© Sweepy Jean and Sweepy Jean Explores the (Webby) World, 2010

Comments on: "My name is …" (8)

  1. Love your photo and am glad to meet you!!

  2. I love the Sweepy Jeanius of it. Happy almost Blogiversary! It’s nice to see you.

  3. You are one beautiful lady inside and out, Sweepy (you’ll always be Sweepy to me 😉 lol) I’m honored and proud to say I’ve been following you a year now! More than that, in my heart you are one of my dearest friends ❤

  4. Nice to meet ya after all this time! I can’t believe it’s only been a year. It’s seems like I have “known” you for so much longer. Here’s to many more years to come!

  5. Hi Adriene. Nice to put a face to a name (and a name to a screen name)!

    Happy early anniversary.

  6. Your transparency is both courageous and inspiring; but then again you’ve always been transparent to me; even in our childhood we always had a ‘psychic’ connection.
    Yuck. Psychic. I wish I had a better word. Anyway, you know what I mean…
    Gotta catch up. So many fascinating posts. I await with great anticipation your next post…

  7. Thank you all, friends old and new!

    Geo, yes, I do know what you mean and it is beyond words. Much love always.

  8. […] Post Racial America Editor, Writer, or Poet? Audience of One (In this post, I was supposed to be talking to myself, ie, my own audience) In Real Time Women and Children My name is… […]

Leave a Reply; Comments Can Be Made Anonymously

