Poetry and personal blog – Spilling my guts to strangers

Month and a Half in Review

That’s how long it’s been since I started blogging. It seems like longer than that. Hmm, is that a good thing or not?!?

Well, for me it’s a good thing. When I started this blog, I wanted to discover things about myself through this new experience as well as to get back in touch with dreams and feelings I had buried for a while. Even in such a short period of time I’ve come a long way.

For me, it’s all about perception. Like, for some people, their job and/or career are front and center in their lives. Being at work is their purpose for getting out of bed in the morning. For others, “job” is a means to an end and their real lives are conducted during the hours when they are not at work. For some, what they do with their lives–cooking, taking care of family, partying, shopping, whatever (plus any drama that ensues as a result)–becomes their life. For me, the ultimate is being intimate with my inner life–my emotions, values, motivation, goals–and to have my inner life reflected in what I do outwardly. Blogging has helped me put my inner life into perspective.

So, a month and a half ago, I would have been profoundly anxious about whether this post would make any sense to anyone–let alone whether anyone would think I was a fool for saying any of this–but yet I pushed forward and published my posts anyway. Every push of the update button on Twitter caused waves of nauseous fear in my stomach, yet I continued to do it. The sky hasn’t fallen yet.

Even though today I still cast a wary glance upward now and then, I love spilling my guts to strangers. When all is said and done, I don’t care if I appear to be foolish or otherwise imperfect, because that’s what I am. (Yes, I mean that the way it’s written.) I’m still learning and always will be, and I’m ok with that.

© Sweepy Jean and Sweepy Jean Explores the (Webby) World, 2010.

Comments on: "Month and a Half in Review" (12)

  1. It’s funny how time flies in the land of blogbelieve, isn’t it? I hit my 11th YEAR this year. Hard to believe.

    But I am certainly glad you have taken on the endeavour of blogging. You’re a beautiful addition to the medium. So glad to have found you!

    Here’s to another month and a half – and many more!!!

    • Wow, that’s amazing! I wish I had discovered the joys of blogging sooner, but I guess everything happens in due time. Thank you for your kind words, I’m glad I found you too; you’re a caution, as they used to say–before my time, I might add 🙂

  2. blogging in itself is a journey.
    Thats why so many people do it.
    i’m not surprised at what you’ve discovered.
    happy blogiversary

  3. Hi fellow newbie blogger! I’ve been blogging for just over a month (can’t claim even a month and a half) and I love it. I too wonder what’s in it for the “other guy” but for me, I get to remind myself of critical writing techniques that aren’t necessarily “forgotten,” but have been placed on such a high shelf that I manage not to see them. (But then I am only 5 feet tall)

    Keep pulling bits of your soul from your keyboard. It’s cathartic if nothing else. And I for one like to read them. 🙂

    • Hi, Birgitte! Blogging really is a good way to practice/experiment with different writing techniques. Thanks for stopping by. Your blog looks like it is very informative. I look forward to exploring it some more.

  4. Wow. I’ve been blogging for six months now! I would have guessed a month and a half. I like your priorities and I’m glad the blogging is helping with them. It’s a funny thing, throwing all your thoughts out to the world, and then to find people interested is amazing. Keep it up!

    • Nothing exists in a vacuum and much of the joy of blogging is being a part of the blogisphere, meeting so many lovely, talented and interesting people. Thanks for being in that number, Brent!

  5. I’ve been bloggling for just a couple months seriously myself…and I keep finding the more I learn, the more I need to learn. Blogging has its own language, its own etiquite, its own way to spread or shrink…I think I’ll be a blog newb all my life. LOL You though, you make being new-ish look stylish and cool. When I grow up, I hope I’m just like you! ❤ ya Sweepy, and happy month and a half…

    • Yes, there is a lot to learn, but just keep in mind all of the things you want to get out of blogging. There are a lot of distractions competing for time and energy. I think that’s why I wrote this post, to bring myself back into focus. You are so endearing, keep being yourself, and keep writing. Your blog is so valuable and Rome wasn’t built in a day.

      (Note to self: Being clueless is the new “stylish and cool.”)

      You always put a smile on my face, Lady! <333

      Speaking of learning, my daughter just told me a few days ago what the heck ❤ meant!

  6. Hey! I’ve just given your blog a ‘thumbs up’ award. Keep doing what you’re doing – I think your blog is great. To find out more visit: http://www.upliftantidote.co.uk/wordpress/2010/02/thumbs-up-to-these-bloggers/

Leave a Reply; Comments Can Be Made Anonymously

