Poetry and personal blog – Spilling my guts to strangers

Warts and All

As rude as it is,
I call up for questioning
The virtues of which
My mirror speaks:
Praise for the
Hair on my head to
The hair on my labia
Sprinkled with wiry gray;

Love for the orange nectar of life
I piss away like spilled sugar;

Applause for the gas I emit when
I stretch and yawn
To greet the morning.

Bravo the violent odor
Of time, the wrinkles,
The fat, the phlegm,
Bile, indulgence,
The insecurities,
Betrayals, the lies–

She lays out the tarot
And reads the cards
For what they are.

© Sweepy Jean and Sweepy Jean Explores the (Webby) World, 2010.

Comments on: "Warts and All" (13)

  1. All I can say, Honey, is that you hit me where I live. It is raw, honest, and beautiful. It makes me celebrate my aging, and womanhood. Cheers!

  2. Hi Sweepy Jean,
    Thanks for commenting on my post. I attempted to follow you though neworked blogs but I’m having issues with it not working, I was having issues with this last night as well.
    It’s good you’re getting back to your poetry if this is what you enjoy. I think you answered your drive for writing in whatever genre in your last post – you find it satisfying. In the end this is all the really matters.

  3. Queen Nefertiti said:

    Sweepy Jeans,

    I am not a poet but I know what I like and I like you. Sometimes less is more and in this case I feel you express more in this piece than most poets do in a lifetime. You touch me and speak to me in a way that is deeper than sisterhood ever could. You are truly special in this world – Warts and All.

    • Thank you so much, Queen. This means a lot to me, coming from someone who has actually seen some of my warts in real life! I love you so much, and I’m so happy you are getting to see this side of me.

  4. Another fine knock by you…love your poetry…a master peice

  5. Now there is a true work of transparency. It takes guts to face the reflection in the mirror, not many can. But you did, bravo.

  6. […] though, I’m going to keep my nose to the grindstone for the next few weeks trying to finish a poetry project I’ve been working on […]

  7. 47 in less than a month: young to some, old to others…but either way, this body is mine to love, warts and all. Loved the raw honesty and empowering celebration of your poem.

Leave a Reply; Comments Can Be Made Anonymously

