Poetry and personal blog – Spilling my guts to strangers

The Blog Post Cliff

Today, America waits to see if it will fall over the fiscal cliff. I hope that just this once, politics can be set aside so that we the people who are all affected by the crushing effects of a depressed economy can finally catch a break. With my recent layoff, I was late to the party–unless, of course, you count the fact that the rest of my immediate family have been variously unemployed and underemployed throughout the entire recession. It’s been going on for nearly five years now.

I usually don’t engage in political talk here. But my preoccupation with keeping my head above water has almost made me go over the Blog Post Cliff, which is to neglect mentioning that this month marks this blog’s third year anniversary!

This was a strange and interesting year for me personally with regard to external life changes. But I also feel it was a breakthrough year internally with my poetry. I am more at peace with the words now than ever before.

I’ve shared a lot of poetry this year, included the ones in my mini collection Like. Love. Hate. available for download at Amazon and Smashwords.

Most of all, I have formed and strengthened many of my relationships with real life people, as well as with fellow bloggers and blog readers. These relationships are what get me through the day, every day.

inspiringblogaward-300px1Speaking of fellow bloggers, I just want to mention the latest wonderful writers who have honored me recently with awards. First, there’s Stuart Nager, whose latest blog is called The Opening of Doors. The tag line for the blog is “Writing To Heal, Cope, and be Restored,” which he does in a creative and honest way. Stu graciously gave me the Inspiring Blog Award.

Liebster-blog-award1-300x225-1Muriel Jacques, another stellar blogger, writes insightfully about living in London as a French expatriate. Her blog is called 40blogSpot – A French Yummy Mummy In London and she gave me the Liebster Award.

So there you have it. I’ve done my part. Here’s hoping that our political leaders do theirs.

Happy New Year, everyone! <3

© Sweepy Jean and Sweepy Jean Explores the (Webby) World, 2012

Comments on: "The Blog Post Cliff" (18)

  1. Thank you for the mention, Adriene. I hope, for both of us, that this coming year we find a fulfilling and livable income job. Wishing you much happiness in this, and future, years to come.

  2. Happy New Year to you, Adriene! I pray it’s a blessed one for you!

  3. Happy New Year! :)

  4. Happy New Year Adriene! I look forward to see what you do in the new year

  5. I do not always get over to the Carnival to read it cover to cover (so to speak), but I always save your posts to read, Adriene, knowing you will touch me whether poetry or prose. Thank you for all you do, for being out there with your interests, for being a model for growth, change, persistence, and happiness. Happy New Year! May we continue, and may the path glow with welcome.

  6. Happy, happy third blogoversary, Adriene! =) Sounds like you had a beautiful and productive year despite the challenges. I guess life’s always a rollercoaster like that. My favorite part was when you said, “I am more at peace with the words now than ever before.” Oh, how I wish I could be too. =) Hugs!

  7. Happy New Year & CONGRATULATIONS on your 3-Yr Blogaversary, Adriene! YaY!!!! Holding you in my heart as you step forward through your Adventures of 2013 ;-*

  8. Thanks for the mention and happy new year! You mention the fact that you had a personal breakthrough with your poetry and I am very, ver pleased for you. How did you do it? I have yet to have a personal breakthrough with my writing!

    • As I was telling Samantha, it takes a lot of practice but it also takes a certain self awareness. I’ll write more about it soon. Keep doing what you’re doing, you’ll get there, Muriel! xox

  9. I know you had a different year, but as you have said, you have changed and grown creatively. Funny how life does that to a person. I too have lost my job, only recently. It’s a strange sort of limbo, honestly. Here I am wondering what awaits me down the road. Will I land someplace that inspires me? Will I be expected to conform? Will I ever find an agent and get published? I was tormenting myself with these questions. Now, a few weeks into the NY I am finally back in my skin. Whatever is going to be is going to be and I am OK with it because I remembered it’s my life to navigate. Hang in there, you’re growing everyday.

    • Thanks for the words of encouragement. I’m sorry to hear you’ve been hit with the recession stick. It’s hard to avoid feeling it one way or another. Doors closing, others opening, I believe in it. And yes, keep navigating the waters before you. Best of luck.

Leave a Reply; Comments Can Be Made Anonymously

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 254 other followers

